Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the Texas state government

If you or someone you know is in need of assistance, please visit our Help for Texans Page.

The Federal Fair Housing Act refers to Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 ( This Act, in addition to the Texas Fair Housing Act (, protects your right to rent an apartment, buy a home, obtain a mortgage, or purchase homeowners insurance free from discrimination based on:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status, and
  • Disability

Cities, counties, and other municipalities may have additional housing discrimination laws to protect additional groups. To find out about existing additional protections in your City, County, or municipality you may find and contact your local Legal Aid Office using (

In addition to the Act, the following legislation and executive orders may apply and provide a basis for federal fair housing enforcement:

For help in identifying what discrimination may look like, please view the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) YouTube Channel (, HUD’s Fair Housing and Civil Rights page (, or the National Fair Housing Alliance page ( If you believe you have been a victim of discrimination, view the How to File a Complaint page. To download more information, including the HUD complaint app and fair housing rights brochures, visit our Toolkits, Sample Forms, and Downloads page.

Through education, outreach, training, program administration, monitoring, and rule provision, TDHCA works to ensure that its housing and assistance programs are compliant with HUD’s requirements and regulations regarding fair housing. TDHCA’s fair housing staff also administer Texas Administrative Code rules related to reasonable accommodations, written policies and procedures, and affirmative marketing.

The current planning document, the State of Texas Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice is the state’s primary fair housing planning guide through 2024.

TDHCA’s fair housing staff also work with The Texas Workforce Commission’s (TWC) Civil Rights Division (CRD). TWC-CRD is tasked with enforcing the State of Texas’s Fair Housing Act, which was passed in 1989 and prohibits discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, religion, familial status, and disabilities in homeownership or rental housing opportunities. TDHCA works with TWC to ensure that prospective applicants and residents are aware of TWC’s complaint process and that owners and management agents operating TDHCA properties and programs are aware of their responsibilities under the Federal and State Fair Housing Act. If you believe you have been a victim of discrimination complaints can be filed by email, fax, hand delivery, online, or mail or can be filed electronically with TWC here:

For more information please visit the How to File a Fair Housing Complaint.

You can learn more about your Fair Housing rights with this poster (PDF) (Español {PDF}) or visit our YouTube playlist.

Subscribe to our Mailing List.

Sign up to get news of our program releases, how to apply for assistance, and other news.