ENFORCEMENT ACTION AGAINST	§	BEFORE THE
HALE CENTER HOUSING AUTHORITY	§ §	TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
WITH RESPECT TO	§	HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
PLAINVIEW II (TRIPLEX)	§ §	AFFAIRS
(HOME FILE # 532315 / CMTS # 2658)	§	

AGREED FINAL ORDER

General Remarks and official action taken:

On this 27th day of February, 2020, the Governing Board (Board) of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA or Department) considered the matter of whether enforcement action should be taken against **HALE CENTER HOUSING AUTHORITY**, a public housing authority (Respondent).

This Agreed Order is executed pursuant to the authority of the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), Tex. Gov't Code §2001.056, which authorizes the informal disposition of contested cases. In a desire to conclude this matter without further delay and expense, the Board and Respondent agree to resolve this matter by this Agreed Final Order. The Respondent agrees to this Order for the purpose of resolving this proceeding only and without admitting or denying the findings of fact and conclusions of law set out in this Order.

Upon recommendation of the Enforcement Committee, the Board makes the following findings of fact and conclusions of law and enters this Order:

WAIVER

Respondent acknowledges the existence of their right to request a hearing as provided by Tex. Gov't Code §2306.044, and to seek judicial review, in the District Court of Travis County, Texas, of any order as provided by Tex. Gov't Code §2306.047. Pursuant to this compromise and settlement, the Respondent waives those rights and acknowledges the jurisdiction of the Board over Respondent.

FINDINGS OF FACT (FOF)

Jurisdiction:

1. During 1994, Caprock Community Action Association, Inc. ("Prior Owner") received a HOME loan in the amount of \$204,460 to build and operate Plainview II (Triplex) ("Property") (HOME file No. 532315 / CMTS No. 2658 / LDLD No. 117).

- 2. Prior Owner signed a land use restriction agreement ("LURA") regarding the Property. The LURA was effective August 19, 1994, and filed of record at Volume 851, Page 397 of the Official Public Records of Real Property of Hale County, Texas ("Records"). In accordance with Section 7.8 of the LURA, the LURA is a restrictive covenant/deed restriction encumbering the property and binding on all successors and assigns for the full term of the LURA.
- 3. Respondent took ownership of the Property and signed an Assumption Agreement with TDHCA to assume the loan and all duties imposed, effective March 17, 2014, and filed the same in the Records at Document Number 2014-001000.
- 4. Respondent is subject to the regulatory authority of TDHCA.

Compliance Violations¹:

- 5. Property has a history of violations and previously signed an Agreed Final Order on January 11, 2018, agreeing to a \$1,000 Administrative Penalty which was to be fully forgivable provided that Respondent submitted complete corrections. The Order was violated and the full penalty was paid.
- 6. An on-site monitoring review was conducted on May 23, 2019, to determine whether Respondent has complied with LURA requirements to lease units to low income households and maintain records demonstrating eligibility. The monitoring review found violations of the LURA and TDHCA rules. Notifications of noncompliance were sent and a September 23, 2019, corrective action deadline was set, however, the following violations were not resolved before the corrective action deadline and were referred for an administrative penalty:
 - a. Respondent failed to submit pre-onsite documentation, a violation of 10 TAC §10.607 (Reporting Requirements) and §10.618 (Onsite Monitoring), which require all developments to submit necessary documentation as requested in preparation for an upcoming monitoring review, including utility allowance information, and written policies and procedures. This finding has been resolved.
 - b. Respondent failed to provide documentation that program units were leased to Low-Income households / household incomes were within prescribed limits upon initial occupancy for units 302, 304, and 306, a violation of 10 TAC §10.611 (Determination, Documentation and Certification of Annual Income) and Section 2.4 of the LURA, which require screening of tenants to ensure qualification for the program. The violation for unit 306 has been resolved, but the finding remains unresolved for units 302 and 304.

¹ Within this Agreed Final Order, all references to violations of TDHCA Compliance Monitoring rules at 10 TAC Chapter 10 refers to the versions of the code in effect at the time of the compliance monitoring reviews and/or inspections that resulted in recording each violation. All past violations remain violations under the current code and all interim amendments.

- c. Respondent failed to provide a Tenant Rights and Resources Guide and get a signed Acknowledgment for units 302, 304, and 306, a violation of 10 TAC §10.613 (Lease Requirements), which requires owners to post a laminated copy of the Guide in a common area of the leasing office and provide a copy to each household during the application process and upon any subsequent change to common amenities, unit amenities, or services. This finding has been resolved.
- d. Respondent failed to execute required lease provisions or exclude prohibited lease language, a violation of 10 TAC §10.613 (Lease Requirements), which requires leases to include specific language preventing evictions or refusal to renew except for good cause. Leases were also missing language to require households to report changes in student status. This finding has been resolved.
- 7. The following violations remain outstanding at the time of this order:
 - a. Program units not leased to Low-Income households / household incomes not within prescribed limits upon initial occupancy for units 302, and 304, as described in FOF #6.b.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

- 1. The Department has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §§2306.041-.0503 and 10 TAC Chapter 2.
- 2. Respondent is a "housing sponsor" as that term is defined in Tex. Gov't Code §2306.004(14).
- 3. Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.607 and §10.618 in 2019, by not submitting pre-onsite documentation including utility allowance information and written policies and procedures, in preparation for the monitoring review.
- 4. Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.611 and Section 2.4 of the LURA in 2019, by failing to provide documentation that household income was within prescribed limits upon initial occupancy for units 302, 304, and 306.
- 5. Respondent violated leasing requirements in 10 TAC §10.613 in 2019, by failing to provide a Tenant Rights and Resources Guide to units 302, 304, and 306, and have the households sign an acknowledgment form.
- 6. Respondent violated leasing requirements in 10 TAC §10.613 in 2019, by failing to execute required lease language for units 302, 304, and 306.
- 7. Because Respondent is a housing sponsor with respect to the Property, and has violated TDHCA rules, the Board has personal and subject matter jurisdiction over Respondent pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.041 and §2306.267.

- 8. Because Respondent is a housing sponsor, TDHCA may order Respondent to perform or refrain from performing certain acts in order to comply with the law, TDHCA rules, or the terms of a contract or agreement to which Respondent and TDHCA are parties, pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.267.
- 9. Because Respondent has violated rules promulgated pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053 and has violated agreements with the Agency to which Respondent is a party, the Agency may impose an administrative penalty pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.041.
- 10. An administrative penalty of \$6,500 is an appropriate penalty in accordance with 10 TAC Chapter 2.

Based upon the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, and an assessment of the factors set forth in Tex. Gov't Code §2306.042 to be considered in assessing such penalties as applied specifically to the facts and circumstances present in this case, the Governing Board of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs orders the following:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Respondent is assessed an administrative penalty in the amount of \$6,500, subject to deferral as further ordered below.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall pay and is hereby directed to pay a \$4,000 portion of the assessed administrative penalty by cashier's check payable to the "Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs" within thirty days of the date this Agreed Final Order is approved by the Board.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall fully address the file monitoring violations as indicated in Exhibit 1 and submit full documentation of the corrections to TDHCA on or before 5/27/2020.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall submit a non-material LURA amendment request to Rene Ruiz on or before 5/27/2020, requesting permission to decrease the number of required occupants per unit in Section 2.3 of the LURA due to vacancy problems. See Exhibit 3 for details.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent timely and fully complies with the terms and conditions of this Agreed Final Order, correcting all violations as required, the satisfactory performance under this order will be accepted in lieu of the remaining assessed administrative penalty in the amount of \$2,500, which shall then be deferred and forgiven.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent fails to satisfy any conditions or otherwise violates any provision of this order, or the Property is sold before the terms and conditions of this Agreed Final Order have been fully satisfied, then the remaining administrative penalty in the amount of \$2,500 shall be immediately due and payable to the Department. Such payment shall be made by cashier's check payable to the "Texas Department of Housing and Community"

Affairs" upon the earlier of (1) within thirty days of the date the Department sends written notice to Respondent that it has violated a provision of this Order, or (2) the Property closing date if sold before the terms and conditions of this Agreed Final Order have been fully satisfied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that corrective documentation must be uploaded to the Compliance Monitoring and Tracking System (CMTS) by following the instructions at this link: <u>http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf</u>. After the upload is complete, an email must be sent to Ysella Kaseman at <u>ysella.kaseman@tdhca.state.tx.us</u> to inform her that the documentation is ready for review. If it comes due and payable, the penalty payment must be submitted to the following address:

If via overnight mail (FedEx, UPS):	If via USPS:
TDHCA	TDHCA
Attn: Ysella Kaseman	Attn: Ysella Kaseman
221 E 11 th St	P.O. Box 13941
Austin, Texas 78701	Austin, Texas 78711

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall follow the requirements of 10 TAC §10.406, a copy of which is included at Exhibit 4, and obtain approval from the Department prior to consummating a sale of the Property, if contemplated.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the terms of this Agreed Final Order shall be published on the TDHCA website.

[Remainder of page intentionally blank]

Approved by the Governing Board of TDHCA on <u>February 27</u>, 2020.

By: /s/ Leslie Bingham-Escareno Name: Leslie Bingham-Escareno Title: Vice Chair of the Board of TDHCA

/s/ James "Beau" Eccles By: Name: James "Beau" Eccles Title: Secretary of the Board of TDHCA

THE STATE OF TEXAS § § COUNTY OF TRAVIS §

Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this 27th day of February, 2020, personally appeared Leslie Bingham-Escareno, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed.

(Seal)

Kathleen M. Vale Notary Public, State of Texas

THE STATE OF TEXAS § § COUNTY OF TRAVIS §

Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this 27th day of February, 2020, personally appeared James "Beau" Eccles, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed.

(Seal)

Kathleen M. Vale Notary Public, State of Texas

STATE OF TEXAS § § COUNTY OF Hale §

BEFORE ME, <u>Roxanne Garcia</u> (notary name), a notary public in and for the State of <u>Texas</u>, on this day personally appeared <u>Cindy Carthel (person signing document)</u>, known to me or proven to me through <u>circle one: personally known / driver's license / passport to</u> be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument, and acknowledged to me that (he/she) executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed, who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows:

- 1. "My name is <u>Cindy Carthel</u>, I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and personally acquainted with the facts herein stated.
- I hold the office of <u>Executive Director</u> for Respondent. I am the authorized representative of Respondent, owner of the Property, which is subject to a Land Use Restriction Agreement monitored by the TDHCA in the State of Texas, and I am duly authorized by Respondent to execute this document.
- 3. Respondent knowingly and voluntarily enters into this Agreed Final Order, and agrees with and consents to the issuance and service of the foregoing Agreed Order by the Governing Board of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs."

RESPONDENT:

HALE CENTER HOUSING AUTHORITY, a public housing authority

By:/s/ Cindy CarthelName:Cindy CarthelTitle:Executive Director

Given under my hand and seal of office this <u>27th</u> day of <u>March</u>, 2020.

<u>/s/ Roxanne Garcia</u> Signature of Notary Public

Roxanne Garcia Printed Name of Notary Public

NOTARY PUBLIC IN AND FOR THE STATE OF <u>Texas</u> My Commission Expires: <u>2023</u>

Exhibit 1

File Monitoring Violation Resources and Instructions

Resources:

- Refer to the following link for all references to the rules at 10 TAC §10 that are referenced below: <u>http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac\$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=10&pt=1&ch=10&sch=F&r <u>l=Y</u>

 </u>
- Refer to the following link for copies of forms that are referenced below: <u>http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm</u>
- Technical support and training presentations are available at the following links: Income and Rent Limits: <u>http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm</u> Utility Allowance: <u>http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/utility-allowance.htm</u> FAQ's: <u>http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/compFags.htm</u>
- 4. All corrections must be submitted via CMTS: See link for steps to upload documents http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf.
- 5. Important notes
 - i. Do not backdate any documents listed below.
 - ii. A transfer of a qualified household from another unit is not sufficient to correct any findings. If there is a tenant income certification or household income above limit violation, a transfer from another unit will simply cause the finding to transfer to that unit.

Instructions:

- 6. **Household income above limit upon initial occupancy for units 302 and 304:** Follow the instructions below with respect to each unit, and submit documentation.
 - i. **Unit 302:** Our understanding based upon your representations during the informal conference is that the over-income household in this unit has moved out. Follow the instructions in the applicable row of the table on the following page.

ii. Unit 304:

- 1. If the household that moved in 3/1/2018 has vacated the unit or does not qualify, follow the instructions in the applicable row of the table on the following page.
- 2. If the household that moved in 3/1/2018 remains in the unit and qualifies for occupancy, certify them using their *current circumstances*, and submit the following:
 - a. New application using current circumstances*;
 - b. New verifications of each source of income and assets*,
 - c. New Tenant Income Certification*;
 - d. Lease and lease addendum;
 - e. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide Acknowledgment; and
 - f. Copy of the Tenant Selection Criteria in place at the time of application.

*Remember that items a-c above must be dated within 120 days of one another.

-- Instructions continued from page 8 --

Circumstance with respect to units listed above	Instruction
I. If unit is occupied by a qualified household	 Either provide evidence of eligibility at the time of move-in, or recertify the household using their current circumstances. Submit for each unit: A. Tenant application; B. Verifications of each source of income and assets; C. Tenant Income Certification; D. Lease and lease addendum; E. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide Acknowledgment; F. Copy of the Tenant Selection Criteria in place at the time of application. Remember that items A-C above must be dated within 120 days of one another. If you do not have all of this information, you should get new documentation for items A-C that do fit within that timeline.
	If the unit is vacant or the tenant does not qualify, follow alternate instructions below.
III. If unit is occupied by a nonqualified household on a month-to-month lease	A. Follow your normal procedures for terminating residency and provide a copy of documentation to TDHCA.**
	B. Once the unit becomes available, occupy the unit by a qualified household, and submit the full new tenant file within 30 days of occupancy*. Receipt of the full tenant file after 5/27/2020 is acceptable for this circumstance provided that Requirement A above is fulfilled.
IV. If unit is occupied by a nonqualified household with a non-expired lease	A. Issue a nonrenewal notice** to tenant and provide a copy to TDHCA, along with a letter committing to occupying the unit with a new qualified household and submitting a full tenant file* as soon as the unit becomes available.
	B. As soon as the unit is occupied by a qualified household, you must submit the full tenant file*. Receipt of the full tenant file after 5/27/2020 is acceptable for this circumstance provided that Requirement A above is fulfilled by that deadline.
V. If unit has been vacant <i>more than</i> 30 days	 A. Unit must be made ready for occupancy and a letter certifying to that effect must be submitted to TDHCA. B. Occupy the unit by a qualified household, and submit the full new tenant file within 30 days of occupancy*. Receipt of the full tenant file after 5/27/2020 is acceptable for this circumstance provided that Requirement A above is fulfilled by that deadline.

If unit 302 or 304 is vacant or the household does not qualify, follow alternate instructions below.

VI. If unit has been vacant <i>less than</i> 30 days	A. If unit is ready for occupancy, a letter certifying to that effect must be submitted to TDHCA.
	B. If unit is not ready for occupancy, submit a letter to TDHCA including details regarding work that is required and when the unit will be ready for occupancy (no more than 30 days from the date of vacancy).
	C. Occupy the unit by a qualified household, and submit the full new tenant file within 30 days of occupancy*. Receipt of the full tenant file after 5/27/2020 is acceptable for this circumstance provided that Requirements A and B above are fulfilled by the that deadline.

*A full tenant file must include:

- A. Tenant application;
- B. Verifications of all sources of income and assets;
- C. Tenant income certification;
- D. Lease and lease addendum;
- E. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide Acknowledgment; and
- *F.* A copy of the tenant selection criteria under which the household was screened.

Remember that items A-C above must be dated within 120 days of one another.

** If a notice of nonrenewal or notice of termination is sent to tenant, ensure that it complies with requirements of the rule at $\frac{10 \text{ TAC } \$10.610(g)}{10}$

<u>Exhibit 2</u>

Tenant File Guidelines

The following technical support does not represent a complete list of all file requirements and is intended only as a guide. TDHCA staff recommends that all onsite staff responsible for accepting and processing applications sign up for First Thursday Training in order to get a full overview of the process. Sign up at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/COMPtrain.html. Forms discussed below are available at: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/COMPtrain.html.

Important Note The application, verifications of income and assets, and Tenant Income Certification (1 - 5 below) must be signed within 120 days of one another. If one component is outside of that period, you must recertify using current circumstances.

- 1. <u>Intake Application:</u> Each adult household member must complete their own application in order to be properly screened at initial certification. A married couple can complete a joint application. The Department does not have a required form to screen households, but we make a sample form available for that purpose. All households must be screened for household composition, income and assets. Applicants <u>must</u> complete all blanks on the application and answer all questions. Any lines left intentionally blank should be marked with "none" or "n/a." The application must be signed and dated by all adult household members, using the date that the form is actually completed. If you use the Texas Apartment Association (TAA) Rental Application, be aware that it does not include all requirements, but they have a "Supplemental Rental Application for Units Under Government Regulated Affordable Housing Programs" that includes the additional requirements. TDHCA also has an application form that you can use; using our form is not required for the application, but it does screen for all requirements.
- 2. <u>Release and Consent</u>: Have tenant sign TDHCA's Release and Consent form so that verifications may be collected by the property.
- 3. <u>Verify Income</u>: Each source of income and asset must be documented for every adult household member based upon the information disclosed on the application. There are multiple methods:
 - a. **First hand verifications (required for HOME):** Paystubs or payroll printouts that show gross income. Ensure that you consistently collect a specified number of consecutive check stubs as defined in your management plan;
 - b. Verification of non-employment income: You must obtain verifications for all other income sources, such as child support, social security, and/or unemployment benefits. Self-certification by the household is not acceptable. Examples: benefit verification letter(s) would be acceptable for social security and/or employment benefits. Acceptable verifications for child support could include documents such as divorce decree(s), court order(s), or a written statement from the court or attorney general regarding the monthly awarded amount;
 - c. **Telephone Verifications**: These are acceptable *only* for clarifying discrepancies and cannot be used as primary form of verification. Include your name, the date, the name of the person with whom you spoke, and your signature. These are appropriate if there is an unusual circumstance relating to the tenant file;
 - d. **Certification of Zero Income:** If an adult household member does not report any sources of income on the application, this form can be used to document thorough screening and to document the source of funds used to pay for rent, utilities, and/or other necessities.

- 4. <u>Verify Assets</u>: Regardless of their balances, applicants must report all assets owned, including assets such as checking or savings accounts. The accounts are typically disclosed on the application form, but you must review all documentation from the tenant to ensure proper documentation of the household's income and assets. For instance, review the credit report (if you pull one), application, pay stubs, and other documents to ensure that all information is consistent. Examples of ways to find assets that are frequently overlooked: Review pay stubs for assets such as checking and retirement accounts that the household may have forgotten to include in the application. These accounts must also be verified. Format of verifications:
 - a. **First hand verifications (required for HOME)** such as bank statements to verify a checking account. Ensure that you use a consistent number of consecutive statements, as identified in your management plan.
- 5. <u>Tenant Income Certification Form</u>: Upon verification of all income and asset sources disclosed on the application and any additional information found in the documentation submitted by the tenant, the next step is to annualize the sources on the Income Certification Form, add them together, and compare to the applicable income limit for household size which can be found at <u>http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm</u>. Be sure to include any income derived from assets. The form must include all household members, and be signed by each adult household member.
- 6. Lease: Must conform to your LURA and TDHCA requirements and indicate a rent below the maximum rent limits, which can be found at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm When determining the rent, ensure that the tenant's rent, plus the utility allowance, plus any housing subsidies, plus any mandatory fees, are below the maximum limits set by TDHCA. 10 TAC §10.613(a) prohibits the eviction or termination of tenancy of low income households for reasons other than good cause throughout the affordability period in accordance with Revenue Ruling 2004-82. In addition, 10 TAC §10.613(e) prohibits HTC developments from locking out or threatening to lock out any development resident, or seizing or threatening to seize personal property of a resident, except by judicial process, for purposes of performing necessary repairs or construction work, or in case of emergency. The prohibitions must be included in the lease or lease addendum. Additionally, certain programs must include a Lead Warning Statement and the TDHCA VAWA lease addendum, per 10 TAC 10.613(f) and (h). TAA has an affordable lease addendum that has incorporated this required language. If you are not a TAA member, you can draft a lease addendum using the requirements outlined above.
- <u>Tenant Selection Criteria</u>: In accordance with 10 TAC §10.610(b), you must maintain written Tenant Selection Criteria and a copy of those written criteria under which an applicant was screened must be included in the household's file.

<u>Tenant Rights and Resources Guide</u>: Copies of the Guide and Acknowledgement form are available online at: <u>http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm</u> In accordance with 10 TAC §10.613(I), you must customize the Guide for your property and post a laminated copy in a common area of the leasing office. Additionally, a representative of the household must receive a copy of the Guide and sign an acknowledgment of receipt (1) prior to, but no more than 120 days prior to, the initial lease execution date, and (2) upon any subsequent changes to the items described at paragraph b) below. The Guide includes:

- a) Information about Fair Housing and tenant choice; and
- b) Information regarding common amenities, unit amenities, and services. You must customize this information to your property.

<u>Exhibit 3</u>

Non-Material LURA Amendment Application Instructions

You have indicated that you are having leasing problems because Section 2.3 of the LURA requires occupancy by households of at least five people. To address this issue, you must submit a Non-Material LURA Amendment request on or before 5/27/2020, asking to decrease the number of required occupants per unit. To submit a Non-Material LURA Amendment request:

- Details regarding the Non-Material LURA Amendment process begin at page 24 of the Post Award Activities Manual at this link: <u>https://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/asset-management/docs/19-PostAwardActivitiesManual.pdf</u>. You must follow the instructions under the sections labeled "All LURA Amendments" and "Non-Material LURA Amendments", and submit all required documentation to the attention of Rene Ruiz no later than 5/27/2020.
- 2. There is no processing fee since this is a HOME loan and the requested change has not already been implemented. You may therefore bypass any portions of the manual relating to required amendment fees.
- 3. Your asset manager is Rene Ruiz. He can be contacted at <u>rene.ruiz@tdhca.state.tx.us</u> or 512.475.1987 with questions about the amendment application.
- 4. Submit the application via email to Rene Ruiz at <u>rene.ruiz@tdhca.state.tx.us</u>, with a cc to Ysella Kaseman at <u>ysella.kaseman@tdhca.state.tx.us</u> no later than 5/27/2020.

Exhibit 4:

Texas Administrative Code

TITLE 10COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENTPART 1TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRSCHAPTER 10UNIFORM MULTIFAMILY RULESSUBCHAPTER EPOST AWARD AND ASSET MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTSRULE §10.406Ownership Transfers (§2306.6713)

(a) Ownership Transfer Notification. All multifamily Development Owners must provide written notice and a completed Ownership Transfer packet, if applicable, to the Department at least 45 calendar days prior to any sale, transfer, or exchange of the Development or any portion of or Controlling interest in the Development. Except as otherwise provided herein, the Executive Director's prior written approval of any such transfer is required. The Executive Director may not unreasonably withhold approval of the transfer requested in compliance with this section.

(b) Exceptions. The following exceptions to the ownership transfer process outlined herein apply:

(1) A Development Owner shall be required to notify the Department but shall not be required to obtain Executive Director approval when the transferee is an Affiliate of the Development Owner with no new Principals or the transferee is a Related Party who does not Control the Development and the transfer is being made for estate planning purposes.

(2) Transfers that are the result of an involuntary removal of the general partner by the investment limited partner do not require advance approval but must be reported to the Department as soon as possible due to the sensitive timing and nature of this decision. In the event the investment limited partner has proposed a new general partner or will permanently replace the general partner, a full Ownership Transfer packet must be submitted.

(3) Changes to the investment limited partner, non-Controlling limited partner, or other non-Controlling partners affiliated with the investment limited partner do not require Executive Director approval. A General Partner's acquisition of the interest of the investment limited partner does not require Executive Director approval, unless some other change in ownership is occurring as part of the same overall transaction.

(4) Changes resulting from foreclosure do not require advance approval but acquiring parties must notify the Department as soon as possible of the revised ownership structure and ownership contact information. (c) General Requirements.

(1) Any new Principal in the ownership of a Development must be eligible under §11.202 of Subchapter C (relating to Ineligible Applicants and Applications). In addition, Principals will be reviewed in accordance with Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory Committee).

(2) Changes in Developers or Guarantors must be addressed as non-material amendments to the application under §10.405 of this subchapter.

(3) To the extent an investment limited partner or its Affiliate assumes a Controlling interest in a Development Owner, such acquisition shall be subject to the Ownership Transfer requirements set forth herein. Principals of the investment limited partner or Affiliate will be considered new Principals and will be reviewed as stated under paragraph (1) of this subsection.

(4) Simultaneous transfer or concurrent offering for sale of the General Partner's and Limited Partner's control and interest will be subject to the Ownership Transfer requirements set forth herein and will trigger a Right of First Refusal, if applicable.

(d) Transfer Actions Warranting Debarment. If the Department determines that the transfer, involuntary removal, or replacement was due to a default by the General Partner under the Limited Partnership Agreement, or other detrimental action that put the Development at risk of failure or the Department at risk for financial exposure as a result of non-compliance, staff may make a recommendation to the Board for the

debarment of the entity and/or its Principals and Affiliates pursuant to the Department's debarment rule. In addition, a record of transfer involving Principals in new proposed awards will be reported and may be taken into consideration by the Executive Award and Review Committee, in accordance with Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory Committee), prior to recommending any new financing or allocation of credits.

(e) Transfers Prior to 8609 Issuance or Construction Completion. Prior to the issuance of IRS Form(s) 8609 (for Housing Tax Credits) or the completion of construction (for all Developments funded through other Department programs) an Applicant may request an amendment to its ownership structure to add Principals. The party(ies) reflected in the Application as having Control must remain in the ownership structure and retain Control, unless approved otherwise by the Executive Director. A development sponsor, General Partner or Development Owner may not sell the Development in whole or voluntarily end their Control prior to the issuance of 8609s.

(f) Nonprofit Organizations. If the ownership transfer request is to replace a nonprofit organization within the Development ownership entity, the replacement nonprofit entity must adhere to the requirements in paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection.

(1) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a Qualified Nonprofit Organization, and the Development received Tax Credits pursuant to §42(h)(5) of the Code, the transferee must be a Qualified Nonprofit Organization that meets the requirements of §42(h)(5) of the Code and Tex. Gov't Code §2306.6706, if applicable, and can demonstrate planned participation in the operation of the Development on a regular, continuous, and substantial basis.

(2) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a nonprofit organization or CHDO, the Development Owner must show that the transferee is a nonprofit organization or CHDO, as applicable, that complies with the LURA.

(3) Exceptions to the above may be made on a case by case basis if the Development is past its Compliance Period/Federal Affordability Period, was not reported to the IRS as part of the Department's Nonprofit Set Aside in any HTC Award year, and follows the procedures outlined in §10.405(b)(1) - (5) of this chapter (relating to LURA Amendments that require Board Approval). The Board must find that:

(A) The selling nonprofit is acting of its own volition or is being removed as the result of a default under the organizational documents of the Development Owner;

(B) The participation by the nonprofit was substantive and meaningful during the full term of the Compliance Period but is no longer substantive or meaningful to the operations of the Development; and

(C) The proposed purchaser is an affiliate of the current Owner or otherwise meets the Department's standards for ownership transfers.

(g) Historically Underutilized Business (HUB) Organizations. If a HUB is the general partner or special limited partner of a Development Owner and it determines to sell its ownership interest, after the issuance of 8609's, the purchaser of that partnership interest or the general or special limited partner is not required to be a HUB as long as the procedure described in §10.405(b)(1) of this chapter (relating to Non-Material LURA Amendments) has been followed and approved.

(h) Documentation Required. A Development Owner must submit documentation requested by the Department to enable the Department to understand fully the facts and circumstances pertaining to the transfer and the effects of approval or denial. Documentation must be submitted as directed in the Post Award Activities Manual, which includes but is not limited to:

(1) A written explanation outlining the reason for the request;

(2) Ownership transfer information, including but not limited to the type of sale, amount of Development reserves to transfer in the event of a property sale, and the prospective closing date;

(3) Pre and post transfer organizational charts with TINs of each organization down to the level of natural persons in the ownership structure as described in 1.204(13) of Subchapter C;

(4) A list of the names and contact information for transferees and Related Parties;

(5) Previous Participation information for any new Principal as described in §11.204(13)(B) of Subchapter C;

(6) Agreements among parties associated with the transfer;

(7) Owners Certifications with regard to materials submitted further described in the Post Award Activities Manual;

(8) Detailed information describing the organizational structure, experience, and financial capacity of any party holding a controlling interest in any Principal or Controlling entity of the prospective Development Owner;

(9) Evidence and certification that the tenants in the Development have been notified in writing of the proposed transfer at least 30 calendar days prior to the date the transfer is approved by the Department. The ownership transfer approval letter will not be issued until this 30 day period has expired;

(10) Any required exhibits and the list of exhibits related to specific circumstances of transfer or Ownership as detailed in the Post Award Activities Manual.

(i) Once the Department receives all necessary information under this section and as required under the Post Award Activities Manual, staff shall initiate a qualifications review of a transferee, in accordance with Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory Committee), to determine the transferee's past compliance with all aspects of the Department's programs, LURAs and eligibility under this chapter and §11.202 of Subchapter C (relating to Ineligible Applicants and Applications).

(j) Credit Limitation. As it relates to the Housing Tax Credit amount further described in §11.4(a) of this title (relating to Tax Credit Request and Award Limits), the credit amount will not be applied in circumstances described in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection:

(1) In cases of transfers in which the syndicator, investor or limited partner is taking over ownership of the Development and not merely replacing the general partner; or

(2) In cases where the general partner is being replaced if the award of credits was made at least five years prior to the transfer request date.

(k) Penalties, Past Due Fees and Underfunded Reserves. The Development Owner must comply with any additional documentation requirements as stated in Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Compliance Monitoring). The Development Owner, as on record with the Department, will be liable for any penalties or fees imposed by the Department even if such penalty can be attributable to the new Development Owner unless such ownership transfer is approved by the Department. In the event a transferring Development has a history of uncorrected UPCS violations, ongoing issues related to keeping housing sanitary, safe, and decent, an account balance below the annual reserve deposit amount as specified in §10.404(a) (relating to Replacement Reserve Accounts), or that appears insufficient to meet capital expenditure needs as indicated by the number or cost of repairs included in a PCA, the prospective Development Owner may be required to establish and maintain a replacement reserve account or increase the amount of regular deposits to the replacement reserve account by entering into a Reserve Agreement with the Department. The Department may also request a plan and timeline relating to needed repairs or renovations that will be completed by the departing and/or incoming Owner as a condition to approving the Transfer.

(I) Ownership Transfer Processing Fee. The ownership transfer request must be accompanied by the corresponding ownership transfer fee as outlined in §11.901 of this chapter (relating to Fee Schedule, Appeals, and other Provisions).

Source Note: The provisions of this \$10.406 adopted to be effective January 5, 2017, 41 TexReg 10569; amended to be effective January 4, 2018, 42 TexReg 7610; amended to be effective December 30, 2018, 43 TexReg 8297