ENFORCEMENT ACTION AGAINST § BEFORE THE
PA MISSION POINTE LLC AND g TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
ACA MISSION, LLC § HOUSING AND
WITH RESPECT TO g COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
MISSION POINTE CLUB (FKA) §
COUNTRY VILLA g
(HTC FILE # 91040 / CMTS # 958)
AGREED FINAL ORDER

General Remarks and official action taken:

On this 9" day of December, 2021, the Governing Board (Board) of the Texas Department of
Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA or Department) considered the matter of whether
enforcement action should be taken against PA MISSION POINTE LLC, a Texas limited liability
company and ACA MISSION, LLC, a Texas limited liability company (collectively, Respondent).

This Agreed Order is executed pursuant to the authority of the Administrative Procedure Act
(APA), Tex. Gov’t Code §2001.056, which authorizes the informal disposition of contested cases. In
a desire to conclude this matter without further delay and expense, the Board and Respondent agree
to resolve this matter by this Agreed Final Order. The Respondent agrees to this Order for the
purpose of resolving this proceeding only and without admitting or denying the findings of fact and
conclusions of law set out in this Order.

Upon recommendation of the Enforcement Committee, the Board makes the following findings of
fact and conclusions of law and enters this Order:

WAIVER

Respondent acknowledges the existence of their right to request a hearing as provided by Tex. Gov’t
Code §23006.044, and to seek judicial review, in the District Court of Travis County, Texas, of any
order as provided by Tex. Gov’t Code §2306.047. Pursuant to this compromise and settlement, the
Respondent waives those rights and acknowledges the jurisdiction of the Board over Respondent.
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FINDINGS OF FACT (FOF)

[urisdiction:

1.

5.

During 1993, Tarrant Country Villa Associates, LP (“Prior Owner”) was awarded an
allocation of Low Income Housing Tax Credits by the Board, in an annual amount of
$315,351 to acquire, rehabilitate and operate Mission Pointe Club (fka) Country Villa
(Property) (HTC file No. 91040 / CMTS No. 958 / LDLD No. 404).

Prior Owner signed a land use restriction agreement (“LURA”) regarding the Property. The
LURA was effective February 26, 1993, and filed of record at Volume 10964, Page 0298 of
the Official Public Records of Real Property of Tarrant County, Texas (“Records”).

PA Mission Pointe, LLC purchased the Property on June 24, 2009 and transferred 50% of
the property to related entity, ACA Mission, LLC, on July 30, 2010. Respondent is bound to
the terms of the LURA in accordance with Section 2 thereof.

In accordance with Section 2 of the LURA, the LURA is a restrictive covenant/deed
restriction encumbering the property and binding on all successors and assigns for the full

term of the LURA.

Respondent is subject to the regulatory authority of TDHCA.

Compliance Violations':

6.

Property has a history of violations and previously signed an Agreed Final Order in 2017,
agreeing to a $1,250 Administrative Penalty. This Order was violated and uncorrected
violations include: failure to provide complete written policies and procedures, and failure to
maintain an affirmative marketing plan and evidence of associated marketing efforts.

An on-site monitoring review was conducted on February 22, 2021, to determine whether
Respondent was in compliance with LURA requirements to lease units to low income
households and maintain records demonstrating eligibility. The monitoring review found
violations of the LURA and TDHCA rules. Notifications of noncompliance were sent and a
June 9, 2021, corrective action deadline was set. Corrections were submitted timely, but
additional findings were identified during the review of those documents, and a corrective
action deadline was set for November 2, 2021. The following violations were not resolved
before the applicable corrective action deadlines and were referred for an administrative
penalty:

a. Respondent failed to submit pre-onsite documentation, a violation of 10 TAC
§10.607 (Reporting Requirements) and §10.618 (Onsite Monitoring), which require
all developments to submit necessary documentation as requested in preparation for
an upcoming monitoring review. Final documentation to correct this finding was
submitted September 24, 2021.

1 Within this Agreed Final Order, all references to violations of TDHCA Compliance Monitoring rules at
10 TAC Chapter 10 refers to the versions of the code in effect at the time of the compliance monitoring reviews
and/or inspections that resulted in recording each violation. All past violations remain violations under the current
code and all interim amendments.
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Respondent failed to provide complete documentation proving that household
incomes were within prescribed limits upon initial occupancy for units 214 and 440,
a violation of 10 TAC §10.611 (Determination, Documentation and Certification of
Annual Income), 10 TAC §10.612 (Tenant File Requirements), and Section 4 of the
LURA, which require screening of tenants to ensure qualification for the program.
Both violations were corrected with new households on September 24, 2021.

Household income for unit 465 exceeded income limits upon initial occupancy, a
violation of 10 TAC §10.611 (Determination, Documentation and Certification of
Annual Income), 10 TAC §10.612 (Tenant File Requirements), and Section 4 of the
LURA, which require screening of tenants to ensure qualification for the program.
The affected household moved out in November of 2021.

Respondent failed to implement a propetly calculated utility allowance, a violation of
10 TAC §10.614 (Utility Allowances), which requires all developments to establish a
utility allowance. It is also a violation of 10 TAC §10.623(b)(7), which requires
utilities paid to an owner” to be accounted for in the utility allowance for housing tax
credit properties after the end of the Compliance Period. The current utility
allowance that must be implemented is $91 for a one-bedroom unit and $122 for a
two-bedroom unit.

Respondent collected gross rents that exceeded income limits as a result of the
miscalculated utility allowance and a mandatory pest control fee for units 146, 163,
214, 363, 440, 464, and 465. TDHCA publishes maximum rent limits for the tax
credit program annually and owners are responsible for ensuring that the maximum
rents that they charge include the amount of rent paid by the household, plus an
allowance for utilities, plus any mandatory fees. Exceeding the maximum rent is a
violation of 10 TAC §10.622 (Special Rules Regarding Rents and Rent Limit
Violations) and 10 TAC §10.623 (Monitoring Procedures for Housing Tax Credit
Properties after the Compliance Period).

2 All utilities except for electricity are currently paid by Respondent, and households are charged a
monthly utility fee allocated by unit.
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8. The following violations remain outstanding at the time of this order:
a. Household income violation desctibed in FOF #7¢;
b. Utility allowance violation described in FOF #7d; and

c. Gross rent violations described in FOF #7e.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Department has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code §§2306.041-
.0503 and 10 TAC Chapter 2.

2. Respondent is a “housing sponsor” as that term is defined in Tex. Gov’t Code
§23006.004(14).

3. Pursuant to IRC §42(m)(1)(B)(iii), housing credit agencies are required to monitor for
noncompliance with all provisions of the IRC and to notify the Internal Revenue Service of
such noncompliance.

4. Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.607 and §10.618 in 2021, by not submitting pre-onsite
documentation in preparation for the monitoring review.

5. Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.611, 10 TAC §10.612, and Section 4 of the LURA in 2021,
by failing to provide documentation that household income was within prescribed limits
upon initial occupancy for three units.

6.  Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.614 in 2021, by failing to implement a propetly calculated
utility allowance.

7. Respondent violated 10 TAC §10.622 and 10 TAC §10.623 in 2021, by collecting gross rents
that exceeded income limits.

8.  Because Respondent is a housing sponsor with respect to the Property, and has violated
TDHCA rules, the Board has personal and subject matter jurisdiction over Respondent
pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code §2306.041 and §2306.267.

9. Because Respondent is a housing sponsor, TDHCA may order Respondent to perform or
refrain from performing certain acts in order to comply with the law, TDHCA rules, or the

terms of a contract or agreement to which Respondent and TDHCA are parties, pursuant to
Tex. Gov’t Code §2306.267.

10.  Because Respondent has violated rules promulgated pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code §2306.053
and has violated agreements with the Agency to which Respondent is a party, the Agency
may impose an administrative penalty pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code §2306.041.

11.  An administrative penalty of $5,000 is an appropriate penalty in accordance with 1 10 TAC
Chapter 2.
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Based upon the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, and an assessment of the factors
set forth in Tex. Gov’t Code §2306.042 to be considered in assessing such penalties as applied
specifically to the facts and circumstances present in this case, the Governing Board of the Texas
Department of Housing and Community Affairs orders the following:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Respondent is assessed an administrative penalty in the amount
of $5,000, subject to partial deferral as further ordered below.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall pay and is hereby directed to pay a $2,500
portion of the assessed administrative penalty by cashier’s check payable to the “Texas Department
of Housing and Community Affairs” within thirty days of the date this Agreed Final Order is
approved by the Board.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall fully correct the file monitoring violations
as indicated in the exhibits and submit full documentation of the corrections to TDHCA on or
before February 7, 2022.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent timely and fully complies with the terms and
conditions of this Agreed Final Order, correcting all violations as required, the satisfactory
performance under this order will be accepted in lieu of the remaining assessed administrative
penalty in the amount of $2,500, which will be deferred and forgiven.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent fails to satisfy any conditions or otherwise
violates any provision of this order, or the property is sold before the terms and conditions of this
Agreed Final Order have been fully satisfied, then the remaining administrative penalty in the
amount of $2,500 shall be immediately due and payable to the Department. Such payment shall be
made by cashier’s check payable to the “Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs”
upon the earlier of (1) within thirty days of the date the Department sends written notice to
Respondent that it has violated a provision of this Order, or (2) the property closing date if sold
before the terms and conditions of this Agreed Final Order have been fully satisfied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that corrective documentation must be uploaded to the
Compliance Monitoring and Tracking System (CMTS) by following the instructions at this link:

www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf. After the upload is
complete, an email must be sent to Ysella Kaseman at ysella.kaseman@tdhca.state.tx.us to inform
her that the documentation is ready for review. If it comes due and payable, the penalty payment
must be submitted to the following address:
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If via overnight mail (FedEx, If via USPS:

UPS):

TDHCA TDHCA

Attn: Ysella Kaseman Attn: Ysella Kaseman
221 E 11" St P.O. Box 13941
Austin, Texas 78701 Austin, Texas 78711

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall follow the requirements of
10 TAC §10.406, a copy of which is included at Exhibit 3, and obtain approval from the
Department prior to consummating a sale of the property, if contemplated.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the terms of this Agreed Final Order shall be published on
the TDHCA website.

[Remainder of page intentionally blank]
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Approved by the Governing Board of TDHCA on December 9 , 2021.

By:  /s/Leo Vasquez
Name: Leo Vasquez
Title: _Chair of the Board of TDHCA

By:  /s/James “Beau” Eccles
Name: James “Beau’ Eccles
Title: Secretary of the Board of TDHCA

THE STATE OF TEXAS §
S
COUNTY OF TRAVIS §
Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this 9th day of December, 2021, personally appeared
Leo Vasquez, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument

and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein
expressed.

(Seal)
/s/ Kathleen M. Vale
Notary Public, State of Texas

THE STATE OF TEXAS §
S
COUNTY OF TRAVIS §
Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this 9th day of December, 2021, personally appeared
James “Beau” Eccles, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing

instrument and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration
therein expressed.

(Seal)
/s/ Kathleen M. Vale
Notary Public, State of Texas
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STATE OF TEXAS §
y
COUNTY OF TARRANT §

BEFORE ME, IRMA RAQUEL ALFARO MARCIAL, a notary public in and for the State of
TEXAS, on this day personally appeared Philip Cascavilla, known to me or proven to me through

cirele one: personally known / driver’s license / passport to be the person whose name is subscribed to

the foregoing instrument, and acknowledged to me that (he/she) executed the same for the
purposes and consideration therein expressed, who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows:

1. “My name is Philip Cascavilla, I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and
personally acquainted with the facts herein stated.

2. Thold the office of Manager / Director for ACA Mission, LLC. I am the authorized
representative of ACA Mission, LLC, the co-owner of the Property, which is subject to a Land
Use Restriction Agreement monitored by the TDHCA in the State of Texas, and I am duly
authorized by Respondent to execute this document.

3. Respondent knowingly and voluntarily enters into this Agreed Final Order, and agrees with and
consents to the issuance and service of the foregoing Agreed Order by the Board of the Texas
Department of Housing and Community Affairs.”

RESPONDENT:

ACA MISSION, LLC,
a Texas limited liability company

By:  /s/ Philip Cascavilla

Name: Philip Cascavilla

Title: Manager / Director

Given under my hand and seal of office this _07 _ day of January , 2022.

/s/ Irma R. Alfaro Marcial
Signature of Notary Public

Irma R. Alfaro Marcial
Printed Name of Notary Public

NOTARY PUBLIC IN AND FOR THE STATE OF_TEXAS
My Commission Expires: August 29, 2023
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STATE OF TEXAS §
y
COUNTY OF TARRANT §

BEFORE ME, IRMA RAQUEL ALFARO MARCIAL, a notary public in and for the State of
TEXAS, on this day personally appeared Philip Cascavilla, known to me or proven to me through

cirele one: personally known / driver’s license /| passport to be the person whose name is subscribed to

the foregoing instrument, and acknowledged to me that (he/she) executed the same for the
purposes and consideration therein expressed, who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows:

1. “My name is Philip Cascavilla, I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and
personally acquainted with the facts herein stated.

2. Thold the office of Manager / Director for PA Mission Pointe, LLC. I am the authorized
representative of PA Mission Pointe, LLLC, the co-owner of the Property, which is subject to a
Land Use Restriction Agreement monitored by the TDHCA in the State of Texas, and I am duly
authorized by Respondent to execute this document.

3. Respondent knowingly and voluntarily enters into this Agreed Final Order, and agrees with and
consents to the issuance and service of the foregoing Agreed Order by the Board of the Texas
Department of Housing and Community Affairs.”

RESPONDENT:

PA MISSION POINTE LLC,
a Texas limited liability company

By:  /s/ Philip Cascavilla

Name: Philip Cascavilla

Title: Manager / Director

Given under my hand and seal of office this _07 _ day of January , 2022.

/s/ Irma R. Alfaro Marcial
Signature of Notary Public

Irma R. Alfaro Marcial
Printed Name of Notary Public

NOTARY PUBLIC IN AND FOR THE STATE OF_TEXAS
My Commission Expires: August 29, 2023
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Exhibit 1

File Monitoring Violation Resources and Instructions

Resources:

1.

Refer to the following link for all references to the rules at 10 TAC §10 that are referenced below:

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtacSext.ViewTAC?tac view=5&ti=10&pt=1&ch=10&sch=F&r
=Y

Refer to the following link for copies of forms that are referenced below:

http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm

Technical support and training presentations are available at the following links:

Income and Rent Limits: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm

Utility Allowance: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/utility-allowance.htm

FAQ’s: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/compFags.htm

All corrections must be submitted via CMTS: See link for steps to upload documents
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf.

Important notes -
i. Do not backdate any documents listed below.

ii. Atransfer of a qualified household from another unit is not sufficient to correct any findings.

Instructions:

6.

Household income above limit upon initial occupancy for unit 465: The affected household has
moved out. To correct as required:

a. If the unit is occupied by a new qualified household as of 2/7/2022, submit the full tenant
file*.

b. If the unitis vacant as of 2/7/2022:

i. Respondent must submit a letter by 2/7/2022 certifying that the unit is ready for
occupancy; and

jii. Respondent must occupy the unit by a qualified household, then submit the full new
tenant file within 30 days of occupancy*. Receipt of the full tenant file after 2/7/2022 is
acceptable for this circumstance provided that Requirement “6.b.ii” above is fulfilled by
that deadline.

*A full tenant file must include:
A. Tenant application;
B. Verifications of all sources of income and assets;
C. Tenant income certification;
D. Lease and lease addendum; and
E. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide Acknowledgment.

Remember that parts A-C must be dated within 120 days of one another.
See Exhibit 2 for technical support regarding tenant files.
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Utility Allowance: Property is using the public housing authority schedule, but is miscalculating.

The current utility allowance that must be implemented is $91 for a one-bedroom unit and $122 for a
two-bedroom unit. To correct, update the Unit Status Report in CMTS by 2/7/2022 to implement
those utility allowance numbers for all units.

Gross rent violations for units 146, 163, 214, 363, 440, 464, and 465: Violation was caused by a

utility allowance miscalculation, and a $5 mandatory pest fee. To correct the findings, submit all of
the following via CMTS by 2/7/2022:

a.

Update the Unit Status Report in CMTS to show the correct utility allowances calculated
by TDHCA. The allowances in the unit status report must be $91 for a 1 bedroom unit
and $122 for a 2 bedroom unit.

Submit a spreadsheet with calculations showing the correct tenant paid rent amount for
each unit listed above.

The formula is Tenant paid rent + mandatory fees + utility allowance = gross rent limit.

Calculate the rent refunds required for each unit above in a spreadsheet.
Submit spreadsheet to TDHCA, along with rent ledgers for each unit.

Amend each lease and submit copies to TDHCA, reflecting rent reduction.

Note, lease amendments were submitted on 11/10/2021, but the new rents shown in
those amendments appear to have similar errors as seen previously. For the sample unit
465 that was analyzed for you on 11/8/2021, the new lease amendment uploaded on
11/10/2021 shows a rent reduction to S826 per month. However, this will cause the
compliance monitor to count $826 tenant paid rent + a utility allowance of 591 +
a mandatory pest fee of S5, for a total of $922. The limit for this unit is $917. If the
intention was to reduce to $821 tenant paid rent plus a S5 mandatory pest fee, please
separate the two in the lease amendments so that TDHCA can accurately verify gross
rents.

Refunds must be issued, not credited to amounts owed to Respondent. Either:

i. Submit copies of cancelled refund checks, proving that tenants received the
refunds; or

ii. Submit evidence of a trust account. If a household has moved out and cannot be
located, the refund must be deposited into a trust account for the tenant per 10
TAC 10.622(e). The account must remain open for the shorter of a four year
period, or until all funds are claimed. If funds are not claimed after the four year
period, the unclaimed funds must be remitted to the Texas Comptroller of
Public Accounts Unclaimed Property Holder Reporting Section to be disbursed
as required by Texas unclaimed property statutes.

Additionally, it would be the best practice to sign appropriate TAA water/sewer/garbage addenda
for the $55 monthly utility reimbursement that is being separately billed by the property. This
addendum does not need to be submitted to the Department for Mission Pointe because the
amount will be included in the utility allowance.
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Exhibit 2

Tenant File Guidelines

The following technical support does not represent a complete list of all file requirements and is
intended only as a guide. TDHCA staff recommends that all onsite staff responsible for accepting and
processing applications sign up for First Thursday Training in order to get a full overview of the process.
Sign up at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/COMPtrain.html. Forms discussed below are available
at: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm.

*Important Note* The application, verifications of income and assets, and Tenant Income Certification (1
— 5 below) must be signed within 120 days of one another. If one component is outside of that time
frame, you must recertify.

1.

Intake Application: Each adult household member must complete their own application in order
to be properly screened at initial certification. A married couple can complete a joint
application. The Department does not have a required form to screen households, but we make
a sample form available for that purpose. All households must be screened for household
composition, income and assets. Applicants must complete all blanks on the application and
answer all questions. Any lines left intentionally blank should be marked with “none” or “n/a.”
The application must be signed and dated by all adult household members, using the date that
the form is actually completed. If you use the Texas Apartment Association (TAA) Rental
Application, be aware that it does not include all requirements, but they have a “Supplemental
Rental Application for Units Under Government Regulated Affordable Housing Programs” that
includes the additional requirements. TDHCA also has an application form that you can use;
using our form is not required for the application, but it does screen for all requirements.

Release and Consent: Have tenant sign TDHCA’s Release and Consent form so that verifications
may be collected by the property.

Verify Income: Each source of income and asset must be documented for every adult household
member based upon the information disclosed on the application.
There are multiple methods:

a. Income Verification for Households with Section 8 Certificates (HTC only): If you
correctly use this form, you do not need to further verify income or assets, but you do
need to collect all other components of the tenant file. This form is signed by the Public
Housing Authority, verifying that the household is eligible at initial occupancy or at
recertification. The form may only be used if the housing authority performed an
income certification or recertification within 120 days of the effective date of the
application that you collect (step 1 above) and the Income Certification form that is
signed (step 5 below). If outside of that period, you must verify income and assets
yourself.

b. First hand verifications: Paystubs or payroll print-outs that show gross income. If you
choose this method, ensure that you consistently collect a specified number of
consecutive check stubs as defined in your management plan (at least two months’
worth of check stubs for HOME, NHTF, NSP, and TCAP RF);

c. Employment Verification Form: Part 1 must be completed by you and signed by the
tenant. Part 2 must be completed by the employer. To prevent fraud, you must submit
the form directly to the employer and must not allow the tenant to handle it. You
should ensure that the person completing the employer portion has authority to do so
and has access to all applicable information in order to verify the employment income. If

Page 12 of 17


http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/COMPtrain.html
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm

you receive the verification via mail, retain the envelope. If you receive it via fax, ensure
that the fax stamp is on it;

Verification of non-employment income: You must obtain verifications for all other
income sources, such as child support, social security, and/or unemployment benefits.
Self-certification by the household is not acceptable. Examples: benefit verification
letter(s) would be acceptable for social security and/or employment benefits.
Acceptable verifications for child support could include documents such as divorce
decree(s), court order(s), or a written statement from the court or attorney general
regarding the monthly awarded amount;

Telephone Verifications: These are acceptable only for clarifying discrepancies and
cannot be used as primary form of verification. Include your name, the date, the name
of the person with whom you spoke, and your signature. These are appropriate if there
is an unusual circumstance relating to the tenant file;

Certification of Zero Income: If an adult household member does not report any
sources of income on the application, this form can be used to document thorough
screening and to document the source of funds used to pay for rent, utilities, and/or
other necessities.

4. Verify Assets: Regardless of their balances, applicants must report all assets owned, including
assets such as checking or savings accounts. The accounts are typically disclosed on the
application form, but you must review all documentation from the tenant to ensure proper
documentation of the household’s income and assets. For instance, review the credit report (if
you pull one), application, pay stubs, and other documents to ensure that all information is
consistent. Examples of ways to find assets that are frequently overlooked: Review pay stubs for
assets such as checking and retirement accounts that the household may have forgotten to
include in the application. These accounts must also be verified. Format of verifications:

a.
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Under $5000 Asset Certification Form: If the total cash value of the assets owned by
members of the household is less than $5,000, as reported on the Intake Application,
the TDHCA Under $5,000 Asset Certification form may be used to verify assets. If
applicable, follow the instructions to complete one form per household that includes
everyone’s assets, even minors, and have all adults sign and date using the date that the
form is actually completed.

First hand verifications such as bank statements to verify a checking account. Ensure
that you use a consistent number of consecutive statements, as identified in your
management plan (at least six months’ worth of bank statements for HOME and HTF).

3@ party verifications using the TDHCA Asset Verification form.
As with the “Employment Verification Form” discussed above, Part 1 must be completed
by you and signed by the tenant. Part 2 must be completed by the financial institution.
To prevent fraud, you must submit the form directly to the employer and must not
allow the tenant to handle it. You should ensure that the person completing the
financial institution’s portion has authority to do so and has access to all applicable
information in order to verify the asset(s). If you receive the verification via mail, retain
the envelope. If you receive it via fax, ensure that the fax stamp is on it.



5. Tenant Income Certification Form: Upon verification of all income and asset sources disclosed
on the application and any additional information found in the documentation submitted by the
tenant, the next step is to annualize the sources on the Income Certification Form, add them
together, and compare to the applicable income limit for household size which can be found at
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm. Be sure to include any income derived
from assets. The form must include all household members, and be signed by each adult
household member.

6. Lease: Must conform with your LURA and TDHCA requirements and indicate a rent below the
maximum rent limits, which can be found at
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm When determining the rent, ensure that
the tenant’s rent, plus the utility allowance, plus any housing subsidies, plus any mandatory
fees, are below the maximum limits set by TDHCA. 10 TAC §10.613(a) prohibits the eviction or
termination of tenancy of low income households for reasons other than good cause throughout
the affordability period in accordance with Revenue Ruling 2004-82. In addition, 10 TAC
§10.613(e) prohibits HTC developments from locking out or threatening to lock out any
development resident, or seizing or threatening to seize personal property of a resident, except
by judicial process, for purposes of performing necessary repairs or construction work, or in case
of emergency. The prohibitions must be included in the lease or lease addendum. Additionally,
certain programs must include a Lead Warning Statement and the TDHCA VAWA lease
addendum, per 10 TAC 10.613(f) and (h). TAA has an affordable lease addendum that has
incorporated this required language. If you are not a TAA member, you can draft a lease
addendum using the requirements outlined above.

7. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide: As of 1/8/2015, the Fair Housing Disclosure Notice and
Tenant Amenities and Services Notice have been replaced by the Tenant Rights and Resources
Guide and its acknowledgment form, copies of which are available online at:
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm

In accordance with 10 TAC §10.613(l), you must customize the guide for your property and post
a laminated copy in a common area of the leasing office. Development must also provide a copy
of the guide to each household during the application process and upon any subsequent
changes to the items described at paragraph b) below. The guide includes:

a) Information about Fair Housing and tenant choice; and
b) Information regarding common amenities, unit amenities, and services.

Additionally, a representative of the household must receive a copy of the guide and sign an
acknowledgment of receipt of the brochure prior to, but no more than 120 days prior to, the
initial lease execution date.

In the event that there is a prior finding for a Fair Housing Disclosure Notice, Tenant Amenities
and Services Notice, the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide was not provided timely, or the
household does not certify to receipt of the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide, resolution will
be achieved by providing the household with the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide and
receiving a signed acknowledgment.
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Exhibit 3:

Texas Administrative Code

TITLE 10 COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

PART 1 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
CHAPTER 10 UNIFORM MULTIFAMILY RULES

SUBCHAPTER E  POST AWARD AND ASSET MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTS
RULE §10.406  Ownership Transfers (§2306.6713)

(a) Ownership Transfer Notification. All multifamily Development Owners must provide written notice and a
completed Ownership Transfer packet, if applicable, to the Department at least 45 calendar days prior to any
sale, transfer, or exchange of the Development or any portion of or Controlling interest in the Development.
Except as otherwise provided herein, the Executive Director's prior written approval of any such transfer is
required. The Executive Director may not unreasonably withhold approval of the transfer requested in
compliance with this section.

(b) Exceptions. The following exceptions to the ownership transfer process outlined herein apply:

(1) A Development Owner shall be required to notify the Department but shall not be required to obtain
Executive Director approval when the transferee is an Affiliate of the Development Owner with no new
Principals or the transferee is a Related Party who does not Control the Development and the transfer is being
made for estate planning purposes.

(2) Transfers that are the result of an involuntary removal of the general partner by the investment limited
partner do not require advance approval but must be reported to the Department as soon as possible due to
the sensitive timing and nature of this decision. In the event the investment limited partner has proposed a new
general partner or will permanently replace the general partner, a full Ownership Transfer packet must be
submitted.

(3) Changes to the investment limited partner, non-Controlling limited partner, or other non-Controlling
partners affiliated with the investment limited partner do not require Executive Director approval. A General
Partner's acquisition of the interest of the investment limited partner does not require Executive Director
approval, unless some other change in ownership is occurring as part of the same overall transaction.

(4) Changes resulting from foreclosure do not require advance approval but acquiring parties must notify the
Department as soon as possible of the revised ownership structure and ownership contact information.

(c) General Requirements.

(1) Any new Principal in the ownership of a Development must be eligible under §11.202 of Subchapter C
(relating to Ineligible Applicants and Applications). In addition, Principals will be reviewed in accordance with
Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory
Committee).

(2) Changes in Developers or Guarantors must be addressed as non-material amendments to the application
under §10.405 of this subchapter.

(3) To the extent an investment limited partner or its Affiliate assumes a Controlling interest in a Development
Owner, such acquisition shall be subject to the Ownership Transfer requirements set forth herein. Principals of
the investment limited partner or Affiliate will be considered new Principals and will be reviewed as stated
under paragraph (1) of this subsection.

(4) Simultaneous transfer or concurrent offering for sale of the General Partner's and Limited Partner's control
and interest will be subject to the Ownership Transfer requirements set forth herein and will trigger a Right of
First Refusal, if applicable.

(d) Transfer Actions Warranting Debarment. If the Department determines that the transfer, involuntary
removal, or replacement was due to a default by the General Partner under the Limited Partnership Agreement,
or other detrimental action that put the Development at risk of failure or the Department at risk for financial
exposure as a result of non-compliance, staff will refer the matter to the Enforcement Committee for
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debarment consideration pursuant to §2.401 of this title (relating to Enforcement, Debarment from
Participation in Programs Administered by the Department). In addition, a record of transfer involving Principals
in new proposed awards will be reported and may be taken into consideration in accordance with Chapter 1,
Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory
Committee), prior to recommending any new financing or allocation of credits.

(e) Transfers Prior to 8609 Issuance or Construction Completion. Prior to the issuance of IRS Form(s) 8609 (for
Housing Tax Credits) or the completion of construction (for all Developments funded through other Department
programs) an Applicant may request an amendment to its ownership structure to add Principals. The party(ies)
reflected in the Application as having Control must remain in the ownership structure and retain Control, unless
approved otherwise by the Executive Director. A development sponsor, General Partner or Development Owner
may not sell the Development in whole or voluntarily end their Control prior to the issuance of 8609s.

(f) Nonprofit Organizations. If the ownership transfer request is to replace a nonprofit organization within the
Development ownership entity, the replacement nonprofit entity must adhere to the requirements in paragraph
(1) or (2) of this subsection.

(1) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a Qualified Nonprofit Organization,
and the Development received Tax Credits pursuant to §42(h)(5) of the Code, the transferee must be a Qualified
Nonprofit Organization that meets the requirements of §42(h)(5) of the Code and Tex. Gov't Code §2306.6706,
if applicable, and can demonstrate planned participation in the operation of the Development on a regular,
continuous, and substantial basis.

(2) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a nonprofit organization or CHDO,
the Development Owner must show that the transferee is a nonprofit organization or CHDO, as applicable, that
complies with the LURA. If the transferee has been certified as a CHDO by TDHCA prior to 2016 or has not
previously been certified as a CHDO by TDHCA, a new CHDO certification package must be submitted for review.
If the transferee was certified as a CHDO by TDHCA after 2016, provided no new federal guidance or rules
concerning CHDO have been released and the proposed ownership structure at the time of review meets the
requirements in 24 CFR Part 92, the CHDO may instead submit a CHDO Self-Certification form with the
Ownership Transfer package.

(3) Exceptions to paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection may be made on a case by case basis if the
Development (for MFDL) is past its Federal Affordability Period or (for HTC Developments) is past its Compliance
Period, was not reported to the IRS as part of the Department's Nonprofit Set Aside in any HTC Award year, and
follows the procedures outlined in §10.405(b)(1) - (5) of this subchapter. The Board must find that:

(A) The selling nonprofit is acting of its own volition or is being removed as the result of a default under the
organizational documents of the Development Owner;

(B) The participation by the nonprofit was substantive and meaningful during the full term of the Compliance
Period but is no longer substantive or meaningful to the operations of the Development; and

(C) The proposed purchaser is an affiliate of the current Owner or otherwise meets the Department's
standards for ownership transfers.
(g) Historically Underutilized Business (HUB) Organizations. If a HUB is the general partner or special limited
partner of a Development Owner and it determines to sell its ownership interest, after the issuance of 8609's,
the purchaser of that partnership interest or the general or special limited partner is not required to be a HUB as
long as the procedure described in §10.405(b)(1) of this chapter (relating to Non-Material LURA Amendments)
has been followed and approved.
(h) Documentation Required. A Development Owner must submit documentation requested by the Department
to enable the Department to understand fully the facts and circumstances pertaining to the transfer and the
effects of approval or denial. Documentation must be submitted as directed in the Post Award Activities Manual,
which includes but is not limited to:

(1) A written explanation outlining the reason for the request;

(2) Ownership transfer information, including but not limited to the type of sale, terms of any new financing
introduced as a result of the transfer, amount of Development reserves to transfer in the event of a property
sale, and the prospective closing date;
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(3) Pre and post transfer organizational charts with TINs of each organization down to the level of natural
persons in the ownership structure as described in §11.204(13)(A) of Subchapter C of this title (relating to
Required Documentation for Application Submission);

(4) A list of the names and contact information for transferees and Related Parties;

(5) Previous Participation information for any new Principal as described in §11.204(13)(B) of this title (relating
to Required Documentation for Application Submission);

(6) Agreements among parties associated with the transfer;

(7) Owners Certifications with regard to materials submitted as further described in the Post Award Activities
Manual;

(8) Detailed information describing the organizational structure, experience, and financial capacity of any party
holding a controlling interest in any Principal or Controlling entity of the prospective Development Owner;

(9) Evidence and certification that the tenants in the Development have been notified in writing of the
proposed transfer at least 30 calendar days prior to the date the transfer is approved by the Department. The
ownership transfer approval letter will not be issued until this 30 day period has expired;

(10) Any required exhibits and the list of exhibits related to specific circumstances of transfer or Ownership as
detailed in the Post Award Activities Manual.

(i) Once the Department receives all necessary information under this section and as required under the Post
Award Activities Manual, staff shall initiate a qualifications review of a transferee, in accordance with Chapter 1,
Subchapter C of this title (relating to Previous Participation and Executive Award Review and Advisory
Committee), to determine the transferee's past compliance with all aspects of the Department's programs,
LURAs and eligibility under this chapter and §11.202 of this title (relating to Ineligible Applicants and
Applications).

(j) Credit Limitation. As it relates to the Housing Tax Credit amount further described in §11.4(a) of this title
(relating to Tax Credit Request and Award Limits), the credit amount will not be applied in circumstances
described in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection:

(1) In cases of transfers in which the syndicator, investor or limited partner is taking over ownership of the
Development and not merely replacing the general partner; or

(2) In cases where the general partner is being replaced if the award of credits was made at least five years
prior to the transfer request date.

(k) Penalties, Past Due Fees and Underfunded Reserves. The Development Owner must comply with any
additional documentation requirements as stated in Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Compliance
Monitoring) and Subchapter G of this chapter (relating to Affirmative Marketing Requirements and Written
Policies and Procedures). The Development Owner on record with the Department will be liable for any
penalties or fees imposed by the Department (even if such penalty can be attributable to the new Development
Owner) unless an ownership transfer has been approved by the Department. In the event a transferring
Development has a history of uncorrected UPCS violations, ongoing issues related to keeping housing sanitary,
safe, and decent, an account balance below the annual reserve deposit amount as specified in §10.404(a)
(relating to Replacement Reserve Accounts), or that appears insufficient to meet capital expenditure needs as
indicated by the number or cost of repairs included in a PNA or SCR, the prospective Development Owner may
be required to establish and maintain a replacement reserve account or increase the amount of regular deposits
to the replacement reserve account by entering into a Reserve Agreement with the Department. The
Department may also request a plan and timeline relating to needed repairs or renovations that will be
completed by the departing and/or incoming Owner as a condition to approving the Transfer. A PNA or SCR may
be requested if one has not already been received under §10.404 of this section (relating to Reserve Accounts).
(I) Ownership Transfer Processing Fee. The ownership transfer request must be accompanied by the
corresponding ownership transfer fee as outlined in §11.901 of this title (relating to Fee Schedule, Appeals, and
other Provisions).

Source Note: The provisions of this §10.406 adopted to be effective February 5, 2020, 45 TexReg 722
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