ENFORCEMENT ACTION AGAINST § BEFORE THE
ALBERT AND KAREN PORTER g TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
WITH RESPECT TO § HOUSING AND
NORTH OREGON S COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
(HTC FILE # 91204 / CMTS # 1016)
AGREED FINAL ORDER

General Remarks and official action taken:

On this 28" day of April, 2016, the Governing Board (“Board”) of the Texas Department of
Housing and Community Affairs (“TDHCA”) considered the matter of whether enforcement action
should be taken against ALBERT AND KAREN PORTER, husband and wife (“Respondent”).

This Agreed Order is executed pursuant to the authority of the Administrative Procedure Act
(“APA”), Tex. Gov’t Code §2001.056, which authorizes the informal disposition of contested cases.
In a desire to conclude this matter without further delay and expense, the Board and Respondent
agree to resolve this matter by this Agreed Final Order. The Respondent agrees to this Order for
the purpose of resolving this proceeding only and without admitting or denying the findings of fact
and conclusions of law set out in this Order.

Upon recommendation of the Enforcement Committee, the Board makes the following findings of
fact and conclusions of law and enters this Order:

WAIVER

Respondent acknowledges the existence of their right to request a hearing as provided by TEX.
GOV’T CODE § 2306.044, and to seek judicial review, in the District Court of Travis County,
Texas, of any order as provided by TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2306.047. Pursuant to this compromise
and settlement, the Respondent waives those rights and acknowledges the jurisdiction of the Board
over Respondent.

FINDINGS OF FACT

[urisdiction:

1. During 1991, Respondent was awarded an allocation of Low Income Housing Tax Credits
by the Board, in an annual amount of $9,180 to rehabilitate and operate North Oregon
(“Property”) (HTC file No. 91204 / CMTS No. 1016 / LDLD No. 157).

2.  Respondent signed a land use restriction agreement (“LURA”) regarding the Property. The
LURA was effective December 28, 1993, and filed of record at Volume 2666, Page 0005 of
the Official Public Records of Real Property of El Paso County, Texas (“Records”).
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Respondents are individuals, husband and wife, that are qualified to own, construct, acquire,
rehabilitate, operate, manage, or maintain a housing development that is subject to the
regulatory authority of TDHCA.

Compliance Violations':

4.

On May 21, 2015 and July 1, 2015, TDHCA sent notice that Respondent had failed to timely
submit their 2014 Annual Owner’s Compliance Report which had come due on April 30,
2015, a violation of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.607 (Reporting Requirements), which
requires each development to submit an Annual Owner’s Compliance Report. The final
parts were submitted on February 19, 2016, after intervention by the Enforcement
Committee and 295 days past the deadline.

A Uniform Physical Condition Standards ("UPCS”) inspection was conducted on July 21,
2015. Inspection reports showed numerous serious property condition violations as shown
at Attachment 1, a violation of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 10.621 (Property Condition
Standards). Notifications of noncompliance were sent and an October 24, 2015, corrective
action deadline was set. Corrective documentation was not received until February 18, 2016,
after intervention by the Enforcement Committee and 117 days past the deadline.

An on-site monitoring review was conducted on June 23, 2015, to determine whether
Respondent was in compliance with LURA requirements to lease units to low income
households and maintain records demonstrating eligibility. The monitoring review found
violations of the LURA and TDHCA rules. Notifications of noncompliance were sent and a
November 18, 2015, corrective action deadline was set, however, the following violations
were not corrected before the deadline:

a. Respondent failed to submit pre-onsite documentation, a violation of 10 TEX.
ADMIN. CODE §10.607 (Reporting Requirements) and §10.618 (Onsite Monitoring),
which require all developments to submit necessary documentation as requested in
preparation for an upcoming monitoring review. The violation was resolved March
26, 2016, after intervention by the Enforcement Committee and 129 days past the
deadline;

b. Respondent failed to submit Quarterly Vacancy Reports from July 2014 forward, a
violation of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.607 (Reporting Requirements), which
requires all developments to submit quarterly vacancy reports online on the 10" of
January, April, July, and October. The missing reports were submitted on January 5,
20106, after intervention by the Enforcement Committee and 48 days past the
deadline;

L within this Agreed Final Order, all references to violations of TDHCA Compliance Monitoring rules at
10 Tex. ADMIN. CoDE, CHAPTERS 10 AND 60 refer to the versions of the code in effect at the time of the compliance
monitoring reviews and/or inspections that resulted in recording each violation. All past violations remain
violations under the current code and all interim amendments.
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Respondent failed to maintain written tenant selection criteria, a violation of 10 TEX.
ADMIN. CODE §10.610 (Tenant Selection Criteria), which requires all developments
to establish written tenant selection criteria that meet minimum TDHCA
requirements. The violation remains unresolved;

Respondent failed to propetly calculate the utility allowance for the property, a
violation of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.614 (Utility Allowances), which requires all
developments to establish a utility allowance. Owner indicated during the informal
conference that the property is all-bills-paid, but the finding is unresolved;

Respondent failed to provide an affirmative marketing plan, a violation of 10 TEX.
ADMIN. CODE §10.617 (Affirmative Marketing), which requires developments to
maintain an affirmative marketing plan and to distribute marketing materials to
selected marketing organizations that reach groups identified as least likely to apply
and to the disabled. The violation remains unresolved;

Respondent failed to post a laminated copy of the Tenant Rights and Resources
Guide in a common area of the leasing office, a violation of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE
§10.613 (Lease Requirements), which requires owners to post a laminated copy of
the Guide in a common area of the leasing office and provide a copy to each
household during the application process and upon any subsequent change to
common amenities, unit amenities, or services. The violation remains unresolved;

Respondent failed to provide a Tenant Rights and Resources Guide and get a signed
Acknowledgment  for units 5, 10, 22, and 34, a violation of
10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.613 (Lease Requirements), which requires owners to post
a laminated copy of the Guide in a common area of the leasing office and provide a
copy to each household during the application process and upon any subsequent
change to common amenities, unit amenities, or services. The violation remains
untesolved;

Respondent failed to provide the Fair Housing Disclosure Notice for units 22 and
34, a violation of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 10.612 (Tenant File Requirements),
which, at the time of move-in for the affected households, required all developments
to provide prospective households with a fair housing disclosure notice within a
certain time period. This form has since been combined with the Notice of
Amenities and Services into a replacement document called a “Tenant Rights and
Resources Guide.” The violation remains unresolved;

Respondent failed to provide an Annual Eligibility Certification for unit 21,
a violation of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.612 (Tenant File Requirements), which
requires developments to annually collect an Annual Eligibility Certification form
from each household. The violation remains unresolved;

7. The following violations remain outstanding at the time of this order:
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Tenant selection criteria violation described in FOF #6c;

Utility allowance violation described in FOF #6d;

Affirmative Marketing Plan violation described in FOF #6e¢;

Tenant Rights and Resources Guide violation described in FOF #06f;



e. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide violation described in FOF #06g;
f.  Fair Housing Disclosure Notice violation for two units described in FOF #6h; and

g. Annual Eligibility Certification violation for one unit described in FOF #0i.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Department has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code §§2306.041-
.0503, and 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §2.

2. Respondent is a “housing sponsot” as that term is defined in Tex. Gov’t Code

§2306.004(14).

3. Pursuant to IRC §42(m)(1)(B)(iii), housing credit agencies ate required to monitor for
noncompliance with all provisions of the IRC and to notify the Internal Revenue Service of
such noncompliance.

4.  Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.617 in 2015 by failing to submit Annual
Owner’s Compliance Reports for the year 2014;

5. Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 10.621 in 2015, by failing to comply with
HUD’s Uniform Physical Condition Standards when major violations were discovered and
not timely corrected.”

6.  Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.607 and §10.618 in 2015, by not
submitting pre-onsite documentation including a unit status report and entrance interview
questionnaire in preparation for the monitoring review;

7. Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.607 in 2014 and 2015, by not
submitting quarterly vacancy reports as required;

8.  Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.610 in 2015, by not maintaining written tenant
selection criteria meeting TDHCA requirements;

9.  Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 10.614 in 2015 by failing to propetly calculate
a utility allowance;

10. Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.617 in 2015, by failing to provide a complete
affirmative marketing plan;

11. Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.612 in 2015, by failing to execute the Fair
Housing Disclosure Notice during the appropriate time frame for two units;

2 HUD’s Uniform Physical Condition Standards are the standards adopted by TDHCA pursuant to 10 TEX. ADMIN.
CoDE 10.621(a)
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12.  Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.613 in 2015, by to post a laminated copy of
the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide in a common area of the leasing office;

13.  Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.613 in 2015, by failing to provide a Tenant
Rights and Resources Guide and get a signed Acknowledgment for four units;

14.  Respondent violated 10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §10.612 in 2015 by failing to collect an Annual
Eligibility Certification for one unit.

15.  Because Respondent is a housing sponsor with respect to the Property, and has violated
TDHCA rules, the Board has personal and subject matter jurisdiction over Respondent
pursuant to TEX. GOV'T CODE §2306.041 and §2306.267.

16. Because Respondent is a housing sponsor, TDHCA may order Respondent to petform or
refrain from performing certain acts in order to comply with the law, TDHCA rules, or the
terms of a contract or agreement to which Respondent and TDHCA are parties, pursuant to
TEX. GOV'T CODE §2306.267.

17. Because Respondent has violated rules promulgated pursuant to TEX. GOV'T CODE Chapter
2306 and has violated agreements with the Agency to which Respondent is a party, the
Agency may impose an administrative penalty pursuant to TEX. GOV'T CODE §2306.041.

18. An administrative penalty of $2,000 is an approptiate penalty in accordance with
10 TEX. ADMIN. CODE §2.

Based upon the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, and an assessment of the factors
set forth in TEX. GOV’T CODE §23006.042 to be considered in assessing such penalties as applied
specifically to the facts and circumstances present in this case, the Board of the Texas Department
of Housing and Community Affairs orders the following:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Respondent is assessed an administrative penalty in the amount
of $2,000, subject to deferral as further ordered below.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall pay and is hereby directed to pay a $500
portion of the assessed administrative penalty by cashiet’s check payable to the “Texas Department
of Housing and Community Affairs” on or before May 30, 2016.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all owner representatives who work on tenant files shall
attend HTC Compliance Training and 1% Thursday Income Eligibility Training, and submit
completion certificates for each to the Agency on or before July 27, 2016.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall fully correct the file monitoring violations
as indicated in Attachments 2 and 3, then submit full documentation of the corrections to
TDHCA on or before July 27, 2016.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Respondent shall follow the requirements of 10 Tex. Admin.
Code 10.406, a copy of which is included at Attachment 4, and obtain approval from the
Department prior to consummating a sale of the property, if contemplated.
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IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent timely and fully complies with the terms and
conditions of this Agreed Final Order, correcting all violations as required, the satisfactory
performance under this order will be accepted in lieu of the remaining $1,500 assessed
administrative penalty and that remaining amount of the administrative penalty will be deferred and
forgiven.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if Respondent fails to satisfy any conditions or otherwise
violates any provision of this order, then the remaining administrative penalty in the amount of
$1,500 shall be immediately due and payable to the Department. Such payment shall be made by
cashier’s check payable to the “Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs” upon the
earlier of (1) within thirty days of the date the Department sends written notice to Respondent that
it has violated a provision of this Order, or (2) the property closing date if sold before the terms and
conditions of this Agreed Final Order have been fully satisfied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that corrective documentation must be uploaded to the
Compliance Monitoring and Tracking System (“CMTS”) by following the instructions at this link:
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf. After the upload is
complete, an email must be sent to Ysella Kaseman at ysella.kaseman@tdhca.state.tx.us to inform
her that the documentation is ready for review. If it comes due and payable, the penalty payment
must be submitted to the following address:

If via overnight mail (FedEx, UPS): If via USPS:
TDHCA TDHCA

Attn: Ysella Kaseman Attn: Ysella Kaseman
221 E 11% St P.O. Box 13941
Austin, Texas 78701 Austin, Texas 78711

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the terms of this Agreed Final Order shall be published on
the TDHCA website.

[Remainder of page intentionally blank]

Page 6 of 18


http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/CMTSUserGuide-AttachingDocs.pdf
mailto:ysella.kaseman@tdhca.state.tx.us

Approved by the Governing Board of TDHCA on April 28, 2016.

By: /s/ ] Paul Oxer
Name: [. Paul Oxer
Title: Chair of the Board of TDHCA

By:  /s/James Beau Eccles
Name: James “Beau” Eccles
Title: Secretary of the Board of TDHCA

THE STATE OF TEXAS §
S
COUNTY OF TRAVIS S

Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this 28th day of April, 2016, personally appeared
[. Paul Oxer, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument
and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein
expressed.

(Seal)
/s/ Peggy M. Henderson
Notary Public, State of Texas

THE STATE OF TEXAS §
S
COUNTY OF TRAVIS §
Before me, the undersigned notary public, on this 28th day of April, 2016, personally appeared
James “Beau” Eccles, proved to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing

instrument and acknowledged to me that he executed the same for the purposes and consideration
therein expressed.

(Seal)
/s/ Pegey M. Henderson
Notary Public, State of Texas
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STATE OF TEXAS §
S
COUNTY OF El Paso §

BEFORE ME, Sandra I Swift, a notary public in and for the State of Texas, on this day personally
appeared , known to me or proven to me through Drivers License to
be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument, and acknowledged to me that
(he/she) executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed, who being by me
duly sworn, deposed as follows:

1. “My name is Albert Porter, I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and personally
acquainted with the facts herein stated.

2. T hold the office of for Respondent. I am the authorized representative
of Respondent, owner of the Property, which is subject to a Land Use Restriction Agreement
monitored by the TDHCA in the State of Texas, and I am duly authorized by Respondent to
execute this document.

3. Respondent knowingly and voluntarily enters into this Agreed Final Order, and agrees with and
consents to the issuance and service of the foregoing Agreed Order by the Board of the Texas
Department of Housing and Community Affairs.”

RESPONDENT:

By:  /s/ Albert Porter
Name: ALBERT PORTER

Given under my hand and seal of office this 23rd day of May, 2016.

/s/ Sandra L. Swift
Signature of Notary Public

Sandra I. Swift
Printed Name of Notary Public

NOTARY PUBLIC IN AND FOR THE STATE OF Texas
My Commission Expires: 3/12/2020
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STATE OF TEXAS §
S
COUNTY OF El Paso §

BEFORE ME, Sandra I Swift, a notary public in and for the State of Texas, on this day personally
appeared , known to me or proven to me through Drivers License to
be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument, and acknowledged to me that
(he/she) executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed, who being by me
duly sworn, deposed as follows:

1. “My name is Karen Porter, I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and personally
acquainted with the facts herein stated.

2. T hold the office of for Respondent. I am the authorized representative
of Respondent, owner of the Property, which is subject to a Land Use Restriction Agreement
monitored by the TDHCA in the State of Texas, and I am duly authorized by Respondent to
execute this document.

3. Respondent knowingly and voluntarily enters into this Agreed Final Order, and agrees with and
consents to the issuance and service of the foregoing Agreed Order by the Board of the Texas
Department of Housing and Community Affairs.”

RESPONDENT:

By:  /s/ Karen Porter
Name: KAREN PORTER

Given under my hand and seal of office this 23rd day of May, 2016.

/s/ Sandra L. Swift
Signature of Notary Public

Sandra L. Swift
Printed Name of Notary Public
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Attachment 1
UPCS Violations — corrected 2/18/2016

[omitted from web version — not in accessible format]
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Attachment 2

File Monitoring Violation Resources and Instructions

1. Refer to the following link for all references to the rules at 10 Tex. ADMIN. CoDE 810 that
are referenced below:

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewT AC?tac view=5&ti=10&pt=1&ch=10&sch=F&rI=Y

2. Refer to the following link for copies of forms that are referenced below:

http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm

3. Technical support and training presentations are available at the following links:
Video/Audio Training: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/presentations.htm
CMTS User Guide: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/03-CMTSUserGuide-030122.pdf

Income and Rent Limits: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm

Utility Allowance: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/utility-allowance.htm

FAQ’s: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/compFags.htm

4. Written tenant selection criteria — Submit written tenant selection criteria addressing all
requirements at 10 Tex. ADMIN. CoDE §10.610, including but not limited to the requirement
to state that the Development will comply with state or federal fair housing and anti-
discrimination laws. TDHCA staff recommend using the rule as a checklist.

5. Utility allowance — Owner indicated during the informal conference that the property is
all-bills paid. Submit evidence that owner pays for all utilities at this development.

6. Affirmative marketing plan —

a. Determine the groups that are least likely to apply. The affirmative marketing web tool
referenced at 10 TExX. ADMIN. CoDE §10.617(d)(5) to determine groups that are least
likely to apply is available online at: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm.
Persons with disabilities must always be selected as a group least likely to apply.
(Note that you will have to follow alternate census tract instructions in the web tool since
North Oregon has under 40 units)

a. Identify specific organizations, media, and community contacts in the housing market to
send marketing outreach materials, including organizations that assist persons with
disabilities. The organizations must specifically reach those groups designated as least
likely to apply. For example, a local housing authority serves the general public, not a
specific racial or ethnic demographic; therefore, marketing to the housing authority is not
affirmative marketing. The same is true for the Department Of Human Services, Texas
Work Force Solutions, and Texas Neighborhood Service. A Hispanic Chamber of
Commerce or Hispanic publication could be an avenue to market to the Hispanic
population if that group is identified as one that is least likely to apply. Similarly, local
groups that focus on helping the mentally disabled, physically disabled, disabled veteran
affairs groups, etc, could be a way to market to the disabled community. Some examples
of groups that focus on the disabled: Easter Seals, United Cerebral Palsy, American
Council of the Blind, The Blinded Veterans Association.
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b.

Complete and execute an affirmative marketing plan using any version of HUD Form
935.2A, including the groups and organizations identified above;

Comply with all requirements of 10 TEX. ADMIN. CoDE §10.617, which TDHCA staff
recommend using as a checklist;

Send marketing outreach materials to the identified organizations, and ensure that said
marketing materials comply with 10 Tex. ADMIN. Cobe 810.617(f)(5).
Submit all documentation to the Department for review.

7. Lease requirements relating to the Fair Housing Disclosure Notice (FHDN) and Tenant
Rights and Resources Guide — The FHDN has since been replaced by the Tenants Rights
and Resource Guide as indicated at 10 TEX. ADMIN. CoDE 8§10.613(k). To correct:

a.

Implement  Tenants Rights and Resource  Guide as indicated at
10 Tex. ADMIN. CobEe 8§10.613(k).

Submit letter certifying that a laminated copy of the Tenants Rights and Resource Guide
has been posted in a common area of the leasing office.

Submit a copy of the Tenants Rights and Resource Guide customized for the property.

The most recent Quarterly Vacancy Report submitted for the property indicates that the
affected households in units 5, 10, 22, and 34 remain in the units. If that is the case,
submit signed Tenants Rights and Resource Guide Acknowledgments for units 5, 10,
22, and 34. If the affected households have moved out without signing this form, please
submit a letter to TDHCA including the move-out date and acknowledging that the
finding cannot be resolved.

8. Tenant income certification and documentation for unit 11 — Owners must annually
(by the anniversary date of move in) collect and maintain current data on each household.
The household occupying the unit at the time of the review moved in on 9/8/2012.
An Annual Eligibility Certification form executed by the household on 10/16/2013 was
found in the file. Current household data was not found.

To correct: Submit an Annual Eligibility Certification form executed by the household.
Do not have the household backdate the form. The effective date will be the date the
household executes the form. Going forward, current data on the household must be collected
by September 8th of each year, but no greater than 120 days prior the September 8th.

Alternatively, if the affected household has moved out, follow the instructions in this chart:

Circumstance with respect to Instruction
units listed above

If unit is occupied by a new | Submit the full tenant file*.
qualified household
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If unit is occupied by a
nonqualified household on a
month-to-month lease

A. Follow your normal procedures for
terminating residency and provide a copy of documentation to
TDHCA.

B. As soon as the unit is occupied by a qualified household, you
must submit the full tenant file*. Receipt after m is acceptable for
this circumstance provided that Requirement A above is fulfilled.

If unit is occupied by
nonqualified household with
non-expired lease

D QD

A. Issue a nonrenewal notice to tenant and provide a copy to
TDHCA.

B. As soon as the unit is occupied by a qualified household, you
must submit the full tenant file*. Receipt after m is acceptable for
this circumstance provided that Requirement A above is fulfilled.

If unit has been vacant more than
30 days

A. Unit must be made ready for occupancy and a letter certifying
to that effect must be submitted to TDHCA.

B. As soon as the unit is occupied by a qualified household, you
must submit the full tenant file*. Receipt after m is acceptable for
this circumstance provided that Requirement A above is fulfilled.

If unit has been vacant less than
30 days

A. If unit is ready for occupancy, a letter certifying to that effect
must be submitted to TDHCA.

B. If unit is not ready for occupancy, submit a letter to TDHCA
including details regarding work that is required and when the
unit will be ready for occupancy (no more than 30 days from the
date of vacancy).

C. As soon as the unit is occupied by a qualified household, you
must submit the full tenant file*. Receipt after m is acceptable for
this circumstance provided that Requirements A and B above are
fulfilled.

*Full tenant file must include: tenant application, verifications of all sources of income and
assets, tenant income certification, lease, lease addendum, and Tenant Rights and Resources Guide

Acknowledgment.
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Attachment 3

Tenant File Guidelines

The following technical support does not represent a complete list of all file requirements and is
intended only as a guide. TDHCA staff recommends that all onsite staff responsible for
accepting and processing applications sign up for First Thursday Training in order to get a full
overview of the process. Sign up at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/COMPtrain.html.
Forms discussed below are available at: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/forms.htm.

1. Intake Application: The Department does not have a required form to screen
households, but we make this form available for that purpose. It is required that
households be screened for household composition, income and assets. Applicants must
complete all blanks on the application and answer all questions. Any lines left
intentionally blank should be marked with “none” or “n/a.” The application must be
signed and dated by all adult household members, using the date that the form is actually
completed.

2. Verify Income: Each source of income and asset must be documented for every adult
household member based upon the information disclosed on the application.
There are multiple methods:

a. First hand verifications: Paystubs or payroll print-outs that show gross income.
If you choose this method, ensure that you consistently collect a specified number
of consecutive check stubs as defined in your management plan;

b. Employment Verification Form: Part 1 must be completed by you and signed by
the  tenant. Part 2 must be completed by the employer.
To prevent fraud, you must submit the form directly to the employer and must not
allow the tenant to handle it. You should ensure that the person completing the
employer portion has authority to do so and has access to all applicable
information in order to verify the employment income. If you receive the
verification via mail, retain the envelope. If you receive it via fax, ensure that the
fax stamp is on it;

c. Verification of non-employment income: You must obtain verifications for all
other income sources, such as child support, social security, and/or unemployment
benefits;

d. Telephone Verifications: these are acceptable only for clarifying discrepancies
and cannot be used as primary form of verification. Include your name, the date,
the name of the person with whom you spoke, and your signature;

e. Certification of Zero Income: If an adult household member does not report any
sources of income on the application, this form can be used to document thorough
screening and to document the source of funds used to pay for rent, utilities,
and/or other necessities.
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3. Verify Assets: Regardless of their balances, applicants must report all assets owned, including
assets such as checking or savings accounts. The accounts are typically disclosed on the
application form, but you must review all documentation from the tenant to ensure proper
documentation of the household’s income and assets. For instance, review the credit report (if
you pull one), application, pay stubs, and other documents to ensure that all information is
consistent. Examples of ways to find assets that are frequently overlooked: Review pay stubs for
assets such as checking and retirement accounts that the household may have forgotten to include
in the application. These accounts must also be verified. Format of verifications:

a. Under $5000 Asset Certification Form: If the total cash value of the assets owned by
members of the household is less than $5,000, as reported on the Intake Application, the
TDHCA Under $5,000 Asset Certification form may be used to verify assets. If
applicable, follow the instructions to complete one form per household that includes
everyone’s assets, even minors, and have all adults sign and date using the date that the
form is actually completed.

b. First hand verifications such as bank statements to verify a checking account. Ensure
that you use a consistent number of consecutive statements, as identified in your
management plan.

c. 3 party verifications using the TDHCA Asset Verification form.
As with the “Employment Verification Form” discussed above, Part 1 must be completed
by you and signed by the tenant. Part 2 must be completed by the financial institution.
To prevent fraud, you must submit the form directly to the employer and must not allow
the tenant to handle it. You should ensure that the person completing the financial
institution’s portion has authority to do so and has access to all applicable information in
order to verify the asset(s). If you receive the verification via mail, retain the envelope.
If you receive it via fax, ensure that the fax stamp is on it.

4. Tenant Income Certification Form: Upon verification of all income and asset sources disclosed
on the application and any additional information found in the documentation submitted by the
tenant, the next step is to annualize the sources on the Income Certification Form, add them
together, and compare to the applicable income limit for household size which can be found at
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm. Be sure to include any income derived from
assets. The form must include (and be signed by) each adult household member.

5. Lease: Must conform with your LURA and TDHCA requirements and indicate a rent below the
maximum rent limits, which can be found at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcomp/irl/index.htm
When determining the rent, ensure that the tenant’s rent, plus the utility allowance, plus
any housing subsidies, plus any mandatory fees, are below the maximum limits set by
TDHCA. 10 Tex. Admin. Code 810.613(a) prohibits the eviction or termination of
tenancy of low income households for reasons other than good cause throughout the
affordability period in accordance with Revenue Ruling 2004-82. In addition,
10 Tex. Admin. Code 810.613(e) prohibits HTC developments from locking out or
threatening to lock out any development resident, or seizing or threatening to seize
personal property of a resident, except by judicial process, for purposes of performing
necessary repairs or construction work, or in case of emergency. The prohibitions must
be included in the lease or lease addendum. The Texas Apartment Association has an
affordable lease addendum that has incorporated this required language. If you are not a
TAA member, you can draft a lease addendum using the requirements outlined above.
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6. Tenant Rights and Resources Guide: As of 1/8/2015, the Fair Housing Disclosure
Notice and Tenant Amenities and Services Notice have been replaced by the Tenant
Rights and Resources Guide, a copy of which s available online at:
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/FairHousingDisclosureBooklet.doc.

In accordance with 10 TAC §10.613(k), a laminated copy of this guide must be posted in
a common area of the leasing office. Development must also provide a copy of the guide
to each household during the application process and upon any subsequent changes to the
items described at paragraph b) below. The Tenant Rights and Resources Guide includes:

a) Information about Fair Housing and tenant choice; and
b) Information regarding common amenities, unit amenities, and services.

A representative of the household must receive a copy of the Tenant Rights and
Resources Guide and sign an acknowledgment of receipt of the brochure prior to, but no
more than 120 days prior to, the initial lease execution date.

In the event that there is a prior finding for a Fair Housing Disclosure Notice, Tenant
Amenities and Services Notice, the Tenant Rights and Resources Guide was not provided
timely, or the household does not certify to receipt of the Tenant Rights and Resources
Guide, correction will be achieved by providing the household with the Tenant Rights
and Resources Guide and receiving a signed acknowledgment. A copy of the
acknowledgment form is available at:
http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/pmcdocs/FairHousingDisclosureSignaturePage.pdf.
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Attachment 4:

Texas Administrative Code

TITLE 10 COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

PART 1 TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
CHAPTER 10 UNIFORM MULTIFAMILY RULES

SUBCHAPTER E POST AWARD AND ASSET MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTS
RULE §10.406 Ownership Transfers (§2306.6713)

(a) Ownership Transfer Notification. All multifamily Development Owners must provide written notice to
the Department at least thirty (30) calendar days prior to any sale, transfer, or exchange of the
Development or any portion of or Controlling interest in the Development. Transfers that are the result of
an involuntary removal of the general partner by the investment limited partner must be reported to the
Department, as soon as possible due to the sensitive timing and nature of this decision. If the Department
determines that the transfer, involuntary removal, or replacement was due to a default by the General
Partner under the Limited Partnership Agreement, or other detrimental action that put the Development at
risk of failure, staff may make a recommendation to the Board for the debarment of the entity and/or its
Principals and Affiliates pursuant to the Department's debarment rule. In addition, a record of transfer
involving Principals in new proposed awards will be reported and may be taken into consideration by the
Executive Award and Review Committee, in accordance with 8§81.5 of this title (relating to Previous
Participation Reviews), prior to recommending any new financing or allocation of credits.
(b) Requirement. Department approval must be requested for any new member to join in the ownership of
a Development. Exceptions include changes to the investment limited partner, non-controlling limited
partner, or other partners affiliated with the investment limited partner, or changes resulting from
foreclosure wherein the lender or financial institution involved in the transaction is the resulting owner.
Any subsequent transfer of the Development will be required to adhere to the process in this section.
Furthermore, a Development Owner may not transfer an allocation of tax credits or ownership of a
Development supported with an allocation of tax credits to any Person or entity unless the Development
Owner obtains the Executive Director's prior, written approval of the transfer. The Executive Director
may not unreasonably withhold approval of the transfer requested in compliance with this section.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, a Development Owner shall be required to notify the Department but shall
not be required to obtain Executive Director approval when the transferee is an Affiliate of the
Development Owner with no new members or the transferee is a Related Party who does not Control the
Development and the transfer is being made for estate planning purposes.
(c) Transfers Prior to 8609 Issuance or Construction Completion. Transfers (other than those that do not
require Executive Director approval, as set forth in subsection (b) of this section) will not be approved
prior to the issuance of IRS Form(s) 8609 (for Housing Tax Credits) or the completion of construction
(for all Developments funded through other Department programs) unless the Development Owner can
provide evidence that the need for the transfer is due to a hardship (ex. potential bankruptcy, removal by a
partner, etc.). The Development Owner must provide the Department with a written explanation
describing the hardship and a copy of any applicable agreement between the parties to the transfer,
including any Third-Party agreement.
(d) Non-Profit Organizations. If the ownership transfer request is to replace a non-profit organization
within the Development ownership entity, the replacement non-profit entity must adhere to the
requirements in paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection.

(1) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a Qualified Non-Profit
Organization, and the Development received Tax Credits pursuant to 842(h)(5) of the Code, the transferee
must be a Qualified Non-Profit Organization that meets the requirements of 842(h)(5) of the Code and
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Texas Government Code 82306.6706.

(2) If the LURA requires ownership or material participation in ownership by a qualified non-profit

organization, but the Development did not receive Tax Credits pursuant to §42(h)(5) of the Code, the
Development Owner must show that the transferee is a non-profit organization that complies with the
LURA.
(e) Historically Underutilized Business ("HUB") Organizations. If a HUB is the general partner of a
Development Owner and it (i) is being removed as the result of a default under the organizational
documents of the Development Owner or (ii) determines to sell its ownership interest, in either case, after
the issuance of 8609s, the purchaser of that general partnership interest is not required to be a HUB as
long as the LURA does not require such continual ownership or a material LURA amendment is
approved. Such approval can be obtained concurrent with Board approval described herein. All such
transfers must be approved by the Board and require that the Board find that:

(1) the selling HUB is acting of its own volition or is being removed as the result of a default under the
organizational documents of the Development Owner;

(2) the participation by the HUB has been substantive and meaningful, or would have been substantial
and meaningful had the HUB not defaulted under the organizational documents of the Development
Owner, enabling it to realize not only financial benefit but to acquire skills relating to the ownership and
operation of affordable housing; and

(3) the proposed purchaser meets the Department's standards for ownership transfers
(f) Documentation Required. A Development Owner must submit documentation requested by the
Department to enable the Department to understand fully the facts and circumstances that gave rise to the
need for the transfer and the effects of approval or denial. Documentation includes but is not limited to:

(1) a written explanation outlining the reason for the request;

(2) a list of the names of transferees and Related Parties;

(3) detailed information describing the experience and financial capacity of transferees and related
parties holding an ownership interest of 10 percent or greater in any Principal or Controlling entity;

(4) evidence and certification that the tenants in the Development have been notified in writing of the
proposed transfer at least thirty (30) calendar days prior to the date the transfer is approved by the
Department. The ownership transfer approval letter will not be issued until this 30 day period has expired.
(g) Within five (5) business days after the date the Department receives all necessary information under
this section, staff shall initiate a qualifications review of a transferee, in accordance with §1.5 of this title,
to determine the transferee's past compliance with all aspects of the Department's programs, LURAS and
eligibility under this chapter.

(h) Credit Limitation. As it relates to the Housing Tax Credit amount further described in 811.4(a) of this
title (relating to Tax Credit Request and Award Limits), the credit amount will not be applied in
circumstances described in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection:

(1) in cases of transfers in which the syndicator, investor or limited partner is taking over ownership of
the Development and not merely replacing the general partner; or

(2) in cases where the general partner is being replaced if the award of credits was made at least five (5)
years prior to the transfer request date.

(i) Penalties. The Development Owner must comply with any additional documentation requirements as
stated in Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Compliance Monitoring). The Development Owner, as
on record with the Department, will be liable for any penalties imposed by the Department even if such
penalty can be attributable to the new Development Owner unless such ownership transfer is approved by
the Department.

(i) Ownership Transfer Processing Fee. The ownership transfer request must be accompanied by
corresponding ownership transfer fee as outlined in §10.901 of this chapter (relating to Fee Schedule).

Source Note: The provisions of this §10.406 adopted to be effective December 9, 2014, 39 TexReg 9518
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