

# Helpful Guidelines

www.tdhca.texas.gov/mh

#### **GENERAL INFORMATION**

The Manufactured Housing industry is regulated by Chapter 1201 of the Texas Occupations Code, administered by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA), Manufactured Housing Division (MHD). While the MHD is part of the TDHCA, it is only administratively attached to the agency and operates independently under its own Executive Director and governing Board.

The MHD is responsible for recording ownership and liens, recording tax liens, issuing occupational licenses to manufacturers, retailers, brokers, installers and salespersons. The MHD also enforces the law, provides consumer protection, and consumer remedy through the Manufactured Homeowner Consumer Claims Program (Claims Program).



Jim R. Hicks Executive Director Manufactured Housing Division

## MHD CONTACT INFORMATION

**Customer Service** For the general public 800-500-7074

Mailing Address P. O. Box 12489, Austin, Texas 78711

Field Support 512-475-4085

mhfieldoffice@tdhca.texas.gov

#### **Email Addresses**

processing@tdhca.texas.gov - For sending general titling inquiries, status updates, and questions.

mhrairesponse@tdhca.texas.gov - For emailing responses to our Requests for Additional Information (RAI). This email address only receives scanned images. Emails are not read from this address, nor is there a response.

mhelectionperfection@tdhca.texas.gov - For emailing the Statement of Ownership and Location, which has been stamped "Filed" by the County Clerk, in order to perfect an election to real property. The only thing that needs to be sent is the actual Statement of Ownership and/or the attached page with the date stamp. Be sure to also send a copy to the taxing entity and appraisal district.

licensing@tdhca.texas.gov - For emailing inquiries or scanned images of manufactured housing occupational licensing documents.

installations@tdhca.texas.gov - For emailing inquiries or scanned images of Installation Reports.

### OTHER IMPORTANT NUMBERS **AND WEBSITES**

TX Comptroller's Off. www.comptroller.texas.gov 800-252-5555

TX Dept. Insurance www.tdi.texas.gov 800-252-3439

TX Dept. Lic. & Reg. www.tdlr.texas.gov 800-803-9202

TX Dept. of Transportation www.txdot.gov 800-558-9368

TX Finance Commission www.fc.texas.gov 877-276-5554

TX Secretary of State www.sos.state.tx.us 512-463-5555

TX Off, of Cons. Credit www.occc.texas.gov 800-538-1579

TX Real Estate Commission www.trec.texas.gov 512-936-3005

TX Dept. of Banking www.dob.texas.gov 877-276-5554

Environmental Protection Agency www.epa.gov Federal Emerg Mgmt Agency www.fema.gov

Housing and Urban Development www.hud.gov

## DEADLINES AND APPLICABLE FEES

Applications for Statement of Ownership - Must be received complete, with the fee, within 60 days from the date of sale. The application fee is \$55 per application.

Form T – Must be received complete, with the fee, within 7 days from the date of installation. Form T fees are \$75 for a single-wide home, \$100 for a double-wide home and \$125 for a triple-wide home.

**Renewal License** – Must be received complete, with the fee, by the date of expiration or the late fees apply.

Warranty Order – Must be complied with in 30 days, or the time specified in the order, or license holder is subject to Director's Disciplinary Meeting and must show cause why their license shouldn't be suspended or revoked.

#### TAX STATEMENT REQUIREMENTS

#### Sales from January 1<sup>st</sup> to June 30<sup>th</sup>:

- 1. Require a tax statement confirming that previous year's taxes were paid in full.
- Requires a statement that present year's taxes have been estimated, paid, and held in escrow.

#### Sales from July 1<sup>st</sup> through September 31<sup>st</sup>:

1. Require a statement that the present year's taxes have been estimated, paid, and held in escrow.

#### Sales from October 1<sup>st</sup> through December 31<sup>st</sup>:

Require a tax statement confirming that the present year's taxes have been paid in full.

## COMMON MISTAKES ON ...

#### **Application for Statement of Ownership**

- Physical address not provided (can't be PO Box).
- Date of sale left off.
- Election as personal or real property not made.
- Signatures not provided or have not been notarized.
- Tax liens exist on the record.
- Statement of no taxes due not included.
- Fee is not submitted.

#### Form T

- Method of installation not noted.
- Map is not provided.
- Serial and/or HUD Label number left off.
- Fee not submitted.