ENFORCEMENT BULLETIN

Number 2017-003

REPORTING INSTALLATIONS

Agency Contact Information

Assistance with a Notice of Installation (Form T)

- Email: installations@tdhca.state.tx.us
- Toll Free Number: 877-313-3023
- Fax Number: Questions 512-475-3506

Submittals to Lubbock Field Office - 806-794-6876

Mailing Address: TDHCA/MHD
 P. O. Box 12489
 Austin, TX 78701

Installation Reports

Title 10, Section 80.33(g) of the Texas Administrative Code, states that:

For each installation completed, the installer must complete a Notice of Installation and submit the original, signed form with the required fee to the Department **no later than seven (7) days after which the installation is completed**, but not later than three (3) days for installers with a provisional license. If an installer submits multiple installation reports at one time, a single payment for the combined fees may be submitted.

- 1 If a contracting installer subcontracts the installation to a licensed installer, the subcontracted installer who performs the installation shall complete the Notice of Installation, and submit the original signed form to the Department no later than seven (7) days after which the installation is completed, or not later than three (3) days for installers with a provisional license. The subcontracted installer may submit the required fee with the Notice of Installation Form.
- 2 If a contracting installer subcontracts the installation to a licensed installer, and the subcontracted installer does not pay the fee, the contracting installer shall submit a copy of the Notice of Installation, labeled as such, with the required fee to the Department no later than seven (7) days after which the installation is completed, or not later than three (3) days for subcontracted installers with a provisional license.

- 3 Provisional installers that provide the installation are required to send a copy of the Notice of Installation to the Department's Field Office within three (3) days of the installation to ensure a timely inspection may be conducted.
- 4 The timely submittal of the Notice of Installation after completion of the installation ensures the Department inspectors may inspect the manufactured home with utilities connected, but before the home is skirted.

To prevent delays, do not send Notice of Installation Reports and fees with applications for statements of ownership.

Submitting Notices of Installation

INSTALLERS WITH A PROVISIONAL LICENSE should:

- 1. Fax their reports to the Lubbock field office **within 3 days** after the date of installation at 806-794-6876; and
- 2. Mail the original with the fee to the Department's headquarters in Austin.

INSTALLERS WITH A REGULAR LICENSE should:

- 1. Mail the original with the fee to the Department's headquarters in Austin.
- 2, Failure to report installations within the established timeframes is a violation and subject to administrative action including a fine, suspension and/or revocation of the license.

Relocating a Manufactured Home

- 1. A <u>moving permit is required</u> for transporting on any city and county roads.
- 2. Only a bonded and licensed Installer can install or re-level manufactured homes.
- 3. A copy of the moving permit should be provided to the owner.
- 4. A copy of the moving permit and an Application for Statement of Ownership must be submitted within 60 days from the date that the home is relocated.

For more details on applicable motor carrier permit laws, contact the Texas DMV Motor Carrier Permits Division: Phone Number: 1-800-299-1700 Web Address: www.txdmv.gov

Monitoring Permit Data

The Manufactured Housing Division downloads permit data from the DMV each quarter to verify that permits issued on homes moved to a consumer's site has resulted in:

- An installation being reported within 7 days (or 3 days when installed by an installer with a
 provisional license) by the responsible Installer; and
- An application for Statement of Ownership being submitted to the Department within 60 days from the date of sale.

Installers and/or retailers failing to report installations and/or ownership updates within the established timeframes are in violation and subject to administrative action including a fine, suspension and/or revocation of the license.